View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 19, 2013, 09:39pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
Bases empty, 1-0 count, batter hits a dribbler well foul up the 3rd base line. Catcher retrieves the ball, tosses it to F5, who throws it to F1.
PONY sez ball is awarded and count is now 2-1. Is ASA's rule 6.7.B interpreted the same way?
Speaking ASA

No, and I also doubt PONY does. The reference is to a pitched ball, not a batted ball. Even then, I would not even consider making that ruling unless it was obvious the catcher was avoiding throwing the ball to the pitcher.

Quote:
PONY 8.11.i has the same penalty when runner intentionally interferes with the fielder's attempt to throw to complete a play. Same in ASA?
8.7.J.2
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote