The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 23, 2003, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
OK, I have learned something from this thread! I need to make sure I got this, though. Here is a question.

On the original play presented, suppose the runner has missed second and is going into third at full speed. She is close enough to third when the ball goes out of play and "Dead ball" is declared that she cannot stop before she reaches and rounds third. The award of home is determined by the fact that she was between second and third at the time of the throw. Since her momentum has carried her past third (which will be the "first awarded base), is she allowed to return to touch second? Is the timing of when she can or cannot return governed by when the umpire makes the award? Is it governed by where she was when the dead ball was declared? I need interps for both FED and ASA, please. Perhaps the most important question: How should I, as an umpire, handle this situation if it were to occur in a game?
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1