Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Now, in 2003, ASA changed the rule on when a runner may return, but only (so far as I know, only) when awarded bases are announced after a ball goes out of play. ASA's rule stayed the same in other situations. And, it stayed different from NFHS.
Mike, I would very much appreciate a report back on the ASA rule change and how umpires are being asked to apply it. Thanks.
|
I received an e-mail from an attendee at a clinic who talked and received the following interpretation from Bernie Profato.
A runner may not return to retouch a missed base or a base left too soon once that runner has advanced to and passed the next awarded base. The confusion is the timing of the award and the definition of the next awarded base. The "next awarded base" is that which would be the first to which the runner in question is advancing after the umpire announces the award.
For example: BR hits a ball which bounds to the outfield fence. While proceeding, 1B is missed by the BR. As the runner rounds 2B, F8 throws the ball over the infield and into DBT. The runner pulls up to 3B when the umpire announces the award which would be home. This announcement defines "home" as the next awarded base and until the moment comes when the runner touches home, s/he may return and retouch each base (in order, both directions) and still be within the confines of the rule.
Same scenario, this time the runner has stops and returns to 2B. Umpire announces the award (still home). Since the runner is on 2B, the announcement now defines 3B as the "next awarded base".
Hopefully, I will get something a bit more detailed in OKC.