View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 23, 2003, 04:05pm
Roger Greene Roger Greene is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 517
If this was a Fed sitch:
If the runner's momentum caused her to go into third as the ball went dead, then she is just out of luck. She may not return to second if she is on or beyond the suceeding base when the ball becomes dead. (Remember, the rules arn't always fair. They are to preserve the balance between offense and defense.)

The only way to save the runner would be to judge that the defense intentionally threw the ball into DBT to strand the runner. That would not be the usual case.

The moral of the tale: Touch the bases in order the first time by.

Roger Greene
Reply With Quote