Mike,
I think the definition of reached the next base would be the base beyond the one he/she is standing on. Lets say the runner was heading to third, ball goes out of play, umpire calls dead ball. Now the runer is on third. the award would be home. as long as he/she doesn't touch home first, he/she may return to touch the bases missed. If he/she has touched home and then someone tells him/her they missed second, too bad they can't return.
Same as if the batter hit one to the gap, misses first, heads to second, ball comes in, passes second, and heads to third. No one can stop it and it goes into the dougout. The award would be third, but since the runner already passed second, they can not return to touch first. Remember the award is from the time of the throw, not when it goes out of play. In the second senerio, the throw was made as the runner was between first and second, so the award would be second and third, and since the runner is past the first base of the award,(second) they cannot return to touch first.
I think I have confussed myself.
Bob
__________________
Bob
Del-Blue
NCAA, ASA, NFHS
NIF
|