View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 24, 2003, 12:14pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
AAAARRRRGGGG.

Sorry. I feel better now.

This post is getting confusing since it is mixing NFHS and ASA rules into the discussion, when these books have fundamental differences on when a runner may return to retouch a base.

In other words, even without the dead ball entering the picture, ASA and NFHS do not agree.

Now, in 2003, ASA changed the rule on when a runner may return, but only (so far as I know, only) when awarded bases are announced after a ball goes out of play. ASA's rule stayed the same in other situations. And, it stayed different from NFHS.

Mike, I would very much appreciate a report back on the ASA rule change and how umpires are being asked to apply it. Thanks.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote