View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 24, 2003, 11:42am
Buck912 Buck912 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 26
Bob, I have to disagree with your interpretation. I'm speaking strictly Fed rules. The rule is saying that if the runner advances, touches, or is on the base beyond the missed base and the ball becomes dead, they cannot return to the missed base. I think it's clear that the language means beyond the missed base, and not beyond the base being occupied at the time the ball becomes dead. Now, so I don't confuse you or myself, I'm simply saying if a runner misses a base (in this example, 2nd base) and they advance to the next base, and the ball becomes dead.....they cannot return to touch that missed base. The same thing would apply to returning to tag up after a caught fly ball. Once the ball is dead, they are dead! so to speak!!!!
Reply With Quote