Quote:
Originally posted by ChampaignBlue
Under ASA, until bases are awarded, runners may return to retouch any base. Once the bases are awarded the only base that can be retouched is the one just passed provided you have not touched the next one.
Let's say we're awarding 2nd and 3rd on a play.
1st case: runner misses 1st and has rounded 2nd when ball goes OOP. Under ASA rule Ump calls dead ball, runner stops and (A)-turns around and retags 1st ump then awards 3rd or (B)-starts for 3rd and ump awards 3rd runner changes mind and retags 1st, runner is subject to appeal because she had already passed the first awarded base (2nd) after the award was made.
2nd case:runner misses 2nd when ball goes OOP. Ump calls dead ball and runner continues on to 3rd while ump awards 3rd.(A) After reaching 3rd coach tells runner to go back and retouch 2nd which runner does. Runner is subject to appeal because 3rd (the next awarded base) had been touched.
or (B) Before reaching 3rd coach tells runner to go back and touch 2nd. Runner is not subject to appeal because the next awarded base had not yet been touched. Jim
|
Since you are only awarding 3B, I'll assume the runner had not yet reached 2B at the time of the throw.
1A. No problem
1B,2A & 2B: Problem. I think the key here is for the umpire to not immediately award bases until it is obvious that the runner is satisfied where they are standing. Once it is obvious the runner is done and standing on a base, announce the award. At this point, the runner may not return. If the runner is between bases and demands to know the award, I would consider him/her committed and announce the award. In both cases, if the award is announced, the the runner may not return to touch a missed base or base left too soon.
With the new condition added about returning after proceeding to or passed an awarded base, the mechanic offered above is pure supposition.