Under ASA, until bases are awarded, runners may return to retouch any base. Once the bases are awarded the only base that can be retouched is the one just passed provided you have not touched the next one.
Let's say we're awarding 2nd and 3rd on a play.
1st case: runner misses 1st and has rounded 2nd when ball goes OOP. Under ASA rule Ump calls dead ball, runner stops and (A)-turns around and retags 1st ump then awards 3rd or (B)-starts for 3rd and ump awards 3rd runner changes mind and retags 1st, runner is subject to appeal because she had already passed the first awarded base (2nd) after the award was made.
2nd case:runner misses 2nd when ball goes OOP. Ump calls dead ball and runner continues on to 3rd while ump awards 3rd.(A) After reaching 3rd coach tells runner to go back and retouch 2nd which runner does. Runner is subject to appeal because 3rd (the next awarded base) had been touched.
or (B) Before reaching 3rd coach tells runner to go back and touch 2nd. Runner is not subject to appeal because the next awarded base had not yet been touched. Jim
|