The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
..I don’t know what “word” games to which you are referring. As I normally do, I cited the statements to which I am responding, but you seem to keep going back to the OP.
My responses up to that point were NFHS (as the OP requested), which words the abandonment rule slightly differently, hence, in the context of NFHS, word games.

However, since you want to talk only ASA, instead of counting angels on the head of a pin (missed base appeal, ruled out for abandonment), lets just assume R1 is ruled out for either of those - take your pick - where is the ASA rule, ruling, case play, or clinic notes that say you take the run off the board in the OP situation (BOB with bases loaded and 2 outs, walk-off situation)? You said you would cite the rule "if necessary." Well?
__________________
Tom

Last edited by Dakota; Thu Jul 01, 2010 at 08:38am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 03:18pm
softball_junky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I have had to tip toe around the p**ing contest but this is what I've found so someone tell me is this correct or is there something else I am missing.

Dakota’s post is not quite the question that was posted. In Dakota’s post the runner made 2B and was tagged while off base. On page 70 in the NFHS case book 9.9.1 M.

In the last of the 7th. Inning, two outs. Score tied, bases loaded. B6 walks to force R1 home. B6 assumes the game is over fails to go to 1B and leaves the field. The ball is held at 1B. Ruling: B6 is out and the run does not score. (Rule 8.6.7 Exception b)

So B6 is out, run is nullified after the appeal?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by softball_junky View Post
I have had to tip toe around the p**ing contest but this is what I've found so someone tell me is this correct or is there something else I am missing.

Dakota’s post is not quite the question that was posted. In Dakota’s post the runner made 2B and was tagged while off base. On page 70 in the NFHS case book 9.9.1 M.

In the last of the 7th. Inning, two outs. Score tied, bases loaded. B6 walks to force R1 home. B6 assumes the game is over fails to go to 1B and leaves the field. The ball is held at 1B. Ruling: B6 is out and the run does not score. (Rule 8.6.7 Exception b)

So B6 is out, run is nullified after the appeal?
Yes - no run... but this is not the OP either. there is a separate specific rule telling us that a run can't score on a play where BR is put out before reaching first base for the third out... that is the rule that applies to your sitch.

The disagreement between Tom, Mike, and I is whether there is any rule that says that if R2 or R3 neglect to make it to the next base, the run is nullified. I don't believe there is - neither does Tom. Mike has alluded that there is, and is generally right - but he has not helped us find that rule.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 03:33pm
softball_junky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm reading Rule 8.6.7 which in part says the batter-runner at 1B or any other runner forced because of the batter-runner. This is a force out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by softball_junky View Post
I'm reading Rule 8.6.7 which in part says the batter-runner at 1B or any other runner forced because of the batter-runner. This is a force out.
Read the whole rule (or post it). There is no force on R2 or R3. Can you throw the ball to 2nd or 3rd before they get there to get them out? No.

Part of that rule DOES say an appeal for a missed base on R2 or R3, if that base was a forced base, can nullify a run. ASA is similar but not identical. But therein lies the crux of the disagreement.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by softball_junky View Post
I'm reading Rule 8.6.7 which in part says the batter-runner at 1B or any other runner forced because of the batter-runner. This is a force out.
The runner is forced to advance, but it is not a force out since it is an awarded base. There is not force out situation at 2B in the OP situation. I can't see any rule that takes a run off the board due to a missed base appeal on an awarded base, or for an out due to abandoning an awarded base, on other than the BR or the runner who actually scored.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 03:48pm
softball_junky
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You may be correct but I'm being devil's advocate. In the case book 1B is also an awarded base that was failed be touched. would 2nd or 3rd be treated any differentially?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Aren't you glad we don't hear appeals as a group?

Of course, then there would be specific rule, a little easier.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by softball_junky View Post
You may be correct but I'm being devil's advocate. In the case book 1B is also an awarded base that was failed be touched. would 2nd or 3rd be treated any differentially?
That is the crux of the discussion. Speaking NFHS, show me where R1 in the OP situation being ruled out negates the run:

NFHS 9-1-1
Quote:
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home plate during action in which the third out is made as follows:
a. by the batter-runner before touching first base;
b. by another runner being forced out;
c. by the preceding runner who is declared out because of failing to touch one of the bases;
d. when a third out is declared on an appeal play resulting in a force out (This play takes precedence if enforcing of it would negate a score.);
e. when there is more than one out declared by the umpire which terminates the half-inning (the defensive team may select the out which is to its advantage);
f. when a runner crosses home plate after a preceding runner is declared the third out.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by softball_junky View Post
You may be correct but I'm being devil's advocate. In the case book 1B is also an awarded base that was failed be touched. would 2nd or 3rd be treated any differentially?
Yes... the difference is this: "by the batter-runner before touching first base"
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
My responses up to that point were NFHS (as the OP requested), which words the abandonment rule slightly differently, hence, in the context of NFHS, word games.

However, since you want to talk only ASA,
Again, go back and read all the words typed. I did not introduce ASA into the discussion.

Quote:
instead of counting angels on the head of a pin (missed base appeal, ruled out for abandonment), lets just assume R1 is ruled out for either of those - take your pick - where is the ASA rule, ruling, case play, or clinic notes that say you take the run off the board in the OP situation (BOB with bases loaded and 2 outs, walk-off situation)? You said you would cite the rule "if necessary." Well?
Rule 1.Force out
Rule 8.3.I
Rule 8.7.G
Rule 5.5.B.1
UIC Clinic Guide Definitions - !.Appeals.I
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 11:09am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
RULE 2
SECTION 24 FORCE PLAY
ART. 1 . . . A force play is a play in which a runner (or two or three runners) loses the right to the base occupied and is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner.
Okay. Can we all agree that a force play exists because of the BOB?

Quote:
ART. 2 . . . For a given runner, a force play ends as soon as the runner touches the next base or a following runner is put out.
If R1 abandons their effort to run, can we agree this does not negate the force play? The force is still in effect. Note that the definition of a Force Play does not require that an out can be made at the base to which the runner is forced, just that the batter became a BR.

Quote:
RULE 8
SECTION 1 THE BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER
ART. 1 . . . A batter becomes a batter-runner with the right to attempt to score by advancing to first, second and third and then home plate in the listed order when:
c. an intentional base on balls is awarded (S.P.), or a fourth ball is called by
the umpire.
The batter, by rule, has indeed become a batter-runner.

Quote:
RULE 8
SECTION 6 THE RUNNER IS OUT
A runner is out when:
ART. 7 . . . The runner fails to touch the intervening base or bases in regular
or reverse order and the ball is returned to the infield and properly appealed. If the runner put out is the batter-runner at first base, or any other runner forced to advance because the batter became a batter-runner, this is a force out.
She failed to touch the base. It's an appeal play. It's a force out. It's the 3rd out. No runs can score. That seems pretty plain to me.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
You've defined the crux of the argument...

"The runner fails to touch the intervening base or bases ". Intervening means BETWEEN. This rule is meant to allow the defense to appeal an out for a runner MISSING a base. The situation described is NOT missing a base. It is abandoning a base. We don't accurately have abandonment often --- but this is EXACTLY what that rule is written for.

If you think there's no difference, consider the same situation but without it being an end-of-game situation.

No outs. Bases loaded. Batter walks and advances. R1 scores. R2 runs off the field to the dugout. Do you stand around waiting for an appeal, or do you call this runner out? You call her out. If this was a missed base, or there was not a difference between abandoning a base and missing one, then you would have to wait for an appeal. But you don't. She's out right now, without appeal. She abandoned 3rd base.

Similarly, in the OP - the runner from 1st or 2nd, technically (although we often don't bother because it's irrelevant) these runners are out as soon as they leave the field. Appealing for missing a base is irrelevant - they are already out --- and their out was NOT the result of a missed base appeal, which is the rule you're using to say the run should be nullified. No such run nullification clause exists with the abandonment rule.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 12:45pm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
You've defined the crux of the argument...

"The runner fails to touch the intervening base or bases ". Intervening means BETWEEN. This rule is meant to allow the defense to appeal an out for a runner MISSING a base. The situation described is NOT missing a base. It is abandoning a base. We don't accurately have abandonment often --- but this is EXACTLY what that rule is written for.

If you think there's no difference, consider the same situation but without it being an end-of-game situation.

No outs. Bases loaded. Batter walks and advances. R1 scores. R2 runs off the field to the dugout. Do you stand around waiting for an appeal, or do you call this runner out? You call her out. If this was a missed base, or there was not a difference between abandoning a base and missing one, then you would have to wait for an appeal. But you don't. She's out right now, without appeal. She abandoned 3rd base.

Similarly, in the OP - the runner from 1st or 2nd, technically (although we often don't bother because it's irrelevant) these runners are out as soon as they leave the field. Appealing for missing a base is irrelevant - they are already out --- and their out was NOT the result of a missed base appeal, which is the rule you're using to say the run should be nullified. No such run nullification clause exists with the abandonment rule.
Mike:

I understand what you're saying. Part of the problem is I read the rule differently than you did. I read it as "fails to touch the intervening base" OR "fails to touch the bases or bases in regular or reverse order". I guess in my mind I was putting a comma where it didn't belong.

Another part of the problem is "abandoning" a base is not defined. Usually in a walk-off situation, the celebration happens on the field of play. Since R1 didn't leave the field of play, when is an umpire to judge she's abandoned her right to run the bases? We're told that a BR on a dropped-third hasn't abandoned her right to attempt to advance to 1B until she's in the dugout. Does that same thing apply here?

I really do understand where you're coming from.

To turn your argument around, if the defense appeals to you prior to you having an opportunity to call her out for abandoning, would you allow the appeal? Or, are you saying there's nothing to appeal because a base hasn't been "missed"? (I think I know your answer.) ;-)

Last edited by RadioBlue; Fri Jul 02, 2010 at 12:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
We're told that a BR on a dropped-third hasn't abandoned her right to attempt to advance to 1B until she's in the dugout. Does that same thing apply here?
Yes

Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
To turn your argument around, if the defense appeals to you prior to you having an opportunity to call her out for abandoning, would you allow the appeal? Or, are you saying there's nothing to appeal because a base hasn't been "missed"? (I think I know your answer.) ;-)
There's nothing to appeal unless the BR went past the supposedly missed base. If we have abandonment, we have it when it happens, no appeal necessary.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Craziest ending of a game ever? ref4life Basketball 14 Sun Mar 01, 2009 02:07pm
S. Caroline/FSU Game Ending tjones1 Basketball 5 Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:56am
Another game ending sitch Blackhawk357 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 07, 2005 01:16pm
Game ending interference blueump Baseball 1 Wed May 26, 2004 07:55am
Game Ending BooBoo whiskers_ump Softball 4 Fri May 02, 2003 12:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1