![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I ask again ... by what rule are you disallowing this run?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
It wasn't a missed base; it was failure to advance. So, call the runner out for failure to advance. Now, find the rule that removes the run from the board.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||||
|
Note: This is speaking ASA based on comment about what ASA teaches.
Quote:
Think about that statement. If a runner goes directly from 3B to 1B on a caught fly ball, are you not allowing the appeal at 2B because the runner did not physically pass the base?Quote:
My question was based on your statement that ASA teaches that only the BR and scoring runner is the concern. I've never heard such a thing. The importance of the scoring runner is obvious. But why wouldn't all other runners carry the same importance whether BR, R2 or R3? Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Tue Jun 29, 2010 at 06:51am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Fine whatever. Honor the appeal, now... ... go ahead.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
You accuse me of word games, but I've yet to see a response to my questions?
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
Wow...
Three years ago when I was posting here all the time, you (and Atl Steve) were generally the guys who would give the definitive right answers when we really had a sticky one. Now (and not just on this thread), it seems all you do is badger and dodge. If we're wrong on this situation, PLEASE tell us why. But this constant answering a question with a question and saying "I didn't say that" without clarifying where you were misunderstood is completely unhelpful. Most of us are here to learn, to share, and help each other (and badger the coaches and players of course ... and talk about beer!). I'm not sure what happened in the past 3 years, but the additions from you in the last 4 or 5 threads (well ... other than the beer one) have not helped any of us. Sorry if I offended ... but I miss the helpful Mike.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
+1
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A lot of us here consider that when you post something, that's it - it's the answer. So answer us here. How, exactly, are you taking this run off the board? By what rule. And if your answer is that you're claiming R3 "missed" 2nd base, are you saying you would not call this runner out without an appeal if she ran off the field during a situation that did not end the game?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
I would point out that the OP is an NFHS situation, and it has now come to also include ASA. NFHS does not require a runner who abandons her advance to actually enter DBT for the out; they require that the runner "abandons a base" OR "leaves the field of play". ASA uses AND instead of OR. NFHS has two case plays on abandoning a base. As I said earlier in this thread, in one case play the runner is out for "giving up" (quoting the ruling) and in the other the runner is out for "abandoning her effort to run the bases" (again, quoting the ruling).
But, as I also said, fine, rule her out on appeal. Where does the support come from to remove the run from the board? It was not the BR and it was not a force play. It was a base award.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But a runner who is FORCED to leave first base due to the batter becoming a batter-runner is considered a forced base, even if it's an award. If someone makes a missed base appeal (a real one) on this runner on the base they are forced to go to, it WOULD nullify the run. Don't have the book in front of me, but if memory serves, this is in the same sentence that says "or a batter-runner before she reaches first base" in nullifying a run.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Craziest ending of a game ever? | ref4life | Basketball | 14 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 02:07pm |
| S. Caroline/FSU Game Ending | tjones1 | Basketball | 5 | Wed Mar 22, 2006 12:56am |
| Another game ending sitch | Blackhawk357 | Basketball | 10 | Fri Jan 07, 2005 01:16pm |
| Game ending interference | blueump | Baseball | 1 | Wed May 26, 2004 07:55am |
| Game Ending BooBoo | whiskers_ump | Softball | 4 | Fri May 02, 2003 12:14pm |