The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 13, 2009, 06:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
NFHS: I would leave her on first.
She gets the base she would have gotten had there been no obstruction.
I know we shouldn't woulda/shoulda/coulda, so how do I know without obstruction she woulda continued on to second rather than returned to first?
What do you do with the BR? (F4 dropped the pop up.)
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 06:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
What do you do with the BR? (F4 dropped the pop up.)
If the BR made 1st safely, the runner is forced, so is out if the defense tags her or 2nd (or the ump waits to see ...).
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
If the BR made 1st safely, the runner is forced, so is out if the defense tags her or 2nd (or the ump waits to see ...).
Go back to the OP, Cecil. R1 was judged to be obstructed between 1st and 2nd by F4. If stopping was a reaction to F4 who is not the fielder fielding the ball, that has to be obstruction. On the other hand, if R1 simply realizes she might have to tag, then that is nothing. But the OP said OBS.

If the ball is caught, R1 must be safe at 1st. If the ball drops, and BR is safe at 1st, R1 must be awarded 2nd; cannot be put out between 1st & 2nd.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 02:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Go back to the OP, Cecil. R1 was judged to be obstructed between 1st and 2nd by F4. If stopping was a reaction to F4 who is not the fielder fielding the ball, that has to be obstruction. On the other hand, if R1 simply realizes she might have to tag, then that is nothing. But the OP said OBS.

If the ball is caught, R1 must be safe at 1st. If the ball drops, and BR is safe at 1st, R1 must be awarded 2nd; cannot be put out between 1st & 2nd.
Yeah, I was focused on the Hugo & Larry part and ignored the OP or OBS. Obviously, you are correct.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What iffy play youngump Softball 27 Sun Jun 15, 2008 08:39pm
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1