View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 11, 2009, 12:54pm
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
There was a question on here, or one of the softball boards somewhere, one time, about F6 coming across to field the ball near second, and F4 obstructing the runner causing the runner to fall into F6 as F6 makes the play, thus causing her to botch the play. The general consensus then was since the OBS caused the runner to fall into F6, then the only thing that could be enforced was the OBS. I even sent that play into the ASA/NFHS state UIC for Texas, and he agreed that OBS would be the proper ruling in that case.

Your first example, though, is still kind of gray. After stopping, could the runner have done anything to avoid contact, or was the stopping/contact simultaneous? I really am not understanding your second scenario, so I cannot be much help there.
The first example was similar enough to what you posted that I think I'm fine with that.

The second scenario broken down. The runner is OBS between 1st and 2nd while another fielder is fielding a fly ball. Because of the obstruction the runner safely returned to first to tag. Without the obstruction the runner easily would have been on second, and been appealed out at first.
I don't like that the runner might get 2nd here but can't come up with a reason not to make the award.
Reply With Quote