View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 14, 2009, 09:10am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
If the BR made 1st safely, the runner is forced, so is out if the defense tags her or 2nd (or the ump waits to see ...).
Go back to the OP, Cecil. R1 was judged to be obstructed between 1st and 2nd by F4. If stopping was a reaction to F4 who is not the fielder fielding the ball, that has to be obstruction. On the other hand, if R1 simply realizes she might have to tag, then that is nothing. But the OP said OBS.

If the ball is caught, R1 must be safe at 1st. If the ball drops, and BR is safe at 1st, R1 must be awarded 2nd; cannot be put out between 1st & 2nd.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote