View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 11, 2009, 12:40pm
Skahtboi Skahtboi is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
There was a question on here, or one of the softball boards somewhere, one time, about F6 coming across to field the ball near second, and F4 obstructing the runner causing the runner to fall into F6 as F6 makes the play, thus causing her to botch the play. The general consensus then was since the OBS caused the runner to fall into F6, then the only thing that could be enforced was the OBS. I even sent that play into the ASA/NFHS state UIC for Texas, and he agreed that OBS would be the proper ruling in that case.

Your first example, though, is still kind of gray. After stopping, could the runner have done anything to avoid contact, or was the stopping/contact simultaneous? I really am not understanding your second scenario, so I cannot be much help there.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote