
Tue Apr 14, 2009, 02:43pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
Go back to the OP, Cecil. R1 was judged to be obstructed between 1st and 2nd by F4. If stopping was a reaction to F4 who is not the fielder fielding the ball, that has to be obstruction. On the other hand, if R1 simply realizes she might have to tag, then that is nothing. But the OP said OBS.
If the ball is caught, R1 must be safe at 1st. If the ball drops, and BR is safe at 1st, R1 must be awarded 2nd; cannot be put out between 1st & 2nd.
|
Yeah, I was focused on the Hugo & Larry part and ignored the OP or OBS. Obviously, you are correct.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
|