The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2009, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Unreported Substitute

Speaking ASA

Top of the 2nd, S1 is told by the coach to take a position in RF, but did not notify the umpire.

In the 4th inning, this player fields a fair batted ball and throws out the tying run at the plate. At this point, the opposing coach visits the PU and tells him that the RF is an unreported substitute.

What action should the umpire take?

Ronald, please sit this one out

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sat Jan 24, 2009 at 11:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2009, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Dont have the 09 rule book yet, but if my understanding of the rule changes are correct, the offense has the option of taking the result of the play, or, the runners return to the last base occupied, batter returns to bat and assumes the same ball and strike count. Unreported sub is entered as long as they were eligable to enter the game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2009, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
Also don't have the 2009 rulebook yet, but it sounds like RKB has the correct answer using the old rule with the known 2009 rule changes.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 11:59am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
2009 ASA 4.6.C.8.

When on defense MAKES A PLAY and is protested:

a. BEFORE the next pitch, legal or illegal,
b. before the defense has left the field, and
c. before the umpires have left the field of play;

EFFECT: The unreported substitute is officially in the game and the offensive team has the option to:

a.Take the result of the play.
b.Have the last batter return to bat and assume the ball and strike count. All runners return to the last base occupied prior to the play.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,376
So, Mike, what's the catch????
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Take Mike's play and add that in the fourth the coach does not do anything but in the seventh decides to make a protest after a defensive play by the unreported sub. Sorry Mike could not resist any more. Bored and ennui.

Any thing different?

I was at the clinic and there was some confusion about the wording of the new rule and its interpretation as to when an unreported sub is officially in the game.

Comments on that pt?

If you have the 2009 book and read the rule you might come up with some of the same thoughts they did at the clinic.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2009, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
What about the spectators dog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
Take Mike's play and add that in the fourth the coach does not do anything but in the seventh decides to make a protest after a defensive play by the unreported sub. Sorry Mike could not resist any more. Bored and ennui.

Any thing different?

I was at the clinic and there was some confusion about the wording of the new rule and its interpretation as to when an unreported sub is officially in the game.
The problem with the discussion at the CAR clinic was that there were way to many "what if's". My favorite one was "what if a spectators dog runs onto the field and is hit with the ball. The ball is deflected where it hits the umpire in the head. The umpire falls and trips the runner. What do you have?"

As for the discussion, I think the simple way of looking at this is that the unreported sub does not enter the game until he is reported or appealed. The coach can make a mistake on the original line-up, the player can play the entire game and yet, in the bottom of the seventh, the opponent can still appeal that they are an unreported sub.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Thumbs down

I believe the clinics are an appropriate place for umps to ask what if questions. They are doubts those umps have and to get them answered is all positive. Those that know the answer have to "put up with" the learners.. If everyone got a casebook and read the ASA clarifications and plays, then the number of what ifs would be limited to advanced questions and concepts.

On the what happens if a runner runs into the ump or the ump runs into the runner, the UIC had to help out the presenter in providing the correct ruling. It was not Mike.

As for a runner running into the ump and then getting tagged out, the out stands. It is in the casebook somewhere. That had to be clarified.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
I believe the clinics are an appropriate place for umps to ask what if questions. They are doubts those umps have and to get them answered is all positive. Those that know the answer have to "put up with" the learners.. If everyone got a casebook and read the ASA clarifications and plays, then the number of what ifs would be limited to advanced questions and concepts.

On the what happens if a runner runs into the ump or the ump runs into the runner, the UIC had to help out the presenter in providing the correct ruling. It was not Mike.

As for a runner running into the ump and then getting tagged out, the out stands. It is in the casebook somewhere. That had to be clarified.
Yeah, it's in the rulebook, too. There are two defined instances of umpire interference; in every other case, the umpire is part of the field (sometimes paraphrased as a big pebble). That shouldn't require any added clarification. It is also clear this isn't a reversal of a call, a delayed call, or something not already covered in the rules (yeah, it's covered, because it isn't umpire interference). So, you cannot use judgment, or a "God rule".

Guess what. The play stands. Thanks for playing.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 03:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
I believe the clinics are an appropriate place for umps to ask what if questions. They are doubts those umps have and to get them answered is all positive. Those that know the answer have to "put up with" the learners.. If everyone got a casebook and read the ASA clarifications and plays, then the number of what ifs would be limited to advanced questions and concepts.
It isn't so much that "what if" factor, but the level of absurdity some of these questions can go. There are also times where it becomes like a media event at the White House. If the reporter doesn't like the first response, they keep asking the same questions or try to put another slant trying to justify an inaccurate perception.

Ron saw that side when discussing the errant throw issue on the double base. I don't know how many times one clinician or another stated that the throw needs to pull the defender away from the base and into foul territory for it to be considered an errant throw as it pertains to the rules. It can get frustrating not only to the clinician, but the others in the audience.

Ron is correct, a clinic is the place to get the questions answered. Unfortunately, there are a few who are looking to try and catch a rule or clinician in a gaff. When there is a questionable response, the clinicians get together with the book and make sure the umpires are given the correct answer. And I'm talking to the point of calling KR. That should be the end of it. If you still disagree, address the clinician during a break or afterwards.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeRef View Post
As for the discussion, I think the simple way of looking at this is that the unreported sub does not enter the game until he is reported or appealed. The coach can make a mistake on the original line-up, the player can play the entire game and yet, in the bottom of the seventh, the opponent can still appeal that they are an unreported sub.

Sorry, have to disagree with what you have stated. The substitution rule is that a sub is officially in the game, reported or not, when they take a position (offensive or defensive), and a pitch (legal or illegal) or a play (dead ball appeal) occurs. If reported (and a legal sub), that's the end of it.

If unreported, they are still in the game, but still unreported. And they stay unreported, until either 1) they are reported, or 2) it is appealed that they are unreported. Anything they do immediately prior to being appealed may still have a penalty; because they are still unreported.

It strikes me that the misconception (at least the one you stated) is between understanding the significant difference in being in the game and being unreported (while being in the game). The thing is the rule really hasn't changed except that the unreported sub, once appealed, is now legally in the game, not ejected. If you understood the rule before, there is no reason to not understand it now.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
That is (clinicians got together) how it was handled at CAR. They got together and Mark came back with a statement.

I sure hope (I am naive) other umps do not try to one up or catch the staff in a boo boo.

Vis a vis the errant throw, many just could not visual what errant really meant and missed the intent of the rule. Hopefully, everyone now (those at the clinic) has a clear idea of what errant means. If not, then we have language barriers that might not be overcome.

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Speaking ASA

Top of the 2nd, S1 is told by the coach to take a position in RF, but did not notify the umpire.

In the 4th inning, this player fields a fair batted ball and throws out the tying run at the plate. At this point, the opposing coach visits the PU and tells him that the RF is an unreported substitute.

What action should the umpire take?

Ronald, please sit this one out
Here is the issue. Turn to ASA Rule 4.6.8 & 9.

S1 entered the game in the 2nd inning. In the 4th, the offense protested the Unreported Substitute prior to the next pitch after the player made a play.

In accordance to 4.6.8, this is a valid and the offense gets the option of the play or one of the two do-overs in the book.

The umpire agrees and gives the OC that option. Now, the DC is on the field and cites 4.6.9 as a reason the ruling is wrong. The coach reminds the umpire that the player entered the field and a pitch was thrown. Therefore, the protest was made AFTER a legal pitch made while in the field and should have been considered in the game at that point in time.

Ooops! Now, we all know what we have been doing, but that assumption has finally been challenged because of the recent rule changes and we have been reading that part of the book just a little closer.

Agreeing the wording needs improvement, the official ruling is that rule 4.6.9 should be enforced as if it read the same as 4.6.8 which includes the qualifier of MAKES A PLAY.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,815
Okay, the wording could be better. But, the coach's argument is incorrect, despite his effort; as long as there has been no intervening pitch after an unreported sub makes a play, 4.6.8 applies, and 4.6.9 does not.

Again, the issue isn't when the player is in the game; the substitution rule says she is after taking a position and a pitch or play happens. Nothing anywhere says that makes her reported; and until she is reported or appealed (effectively being reported by the opposing team), she is still unreported.

To suggest she is not in the game would allow the starter to re-enter without being charged a re-entry. Obviously not; and for the starter to be out, someone else is obviously in. That person is a sub; but that doesn't make her reported if she isn't. She is officially in the game; and her status is unreported, still.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Okay, the wording could be better. But, the coach's argument is incorrect, despite his effort; as long as there has been no intervening pitch after an unreported sub makes a play, 4.6.8 applies, and 4.6.9 does not.
Why not? Are not all of the requirement met considering the present wording?

Is the player not in the game unreported? Has the protest not been made after the pitch, legal or illegal?

Don't get me wrong, I agree with the official ruling, it is just that the rule does not, which will be changed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unreported Substitute Bluefoot Softball 2 Wed May 02, 2007 07:27am
Unreported Substitute WestMichBlue Softball 3 Thu Apr 19, 2007 08:26pm
Unreported substitute rwest Softball 8 Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:57am
Unreported substitute kycat1 Softball 3 Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:43pm
Unreported Substitute rwest Softball 5 Fri Feb 13, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1