The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2009, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Unreported Substitute

Speaking ASA

Top of the 2nd, S1 is told by the coach to take a position in RF, but did not notify the umpire.

In the 4th inning, this player fields a fair batted ball and throws out the tying run at the plate. At this point, the opposing coach visits the PU and tells him that the RF is an unreported substitute.

What action should the umpire take?

Ronald, please sit this one out

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sat Jan 24, 2009 at 11:28pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2009, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
Dont have the 09 rule book yet, but if my understanding of the rule changes are correct, the offense has the option of taking the result of the play, or, the runners return to the last base occupied, batter returns to bat and assumes the same ball and strike count. Unreported sub is entered as long as they were eligable to enter the game.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 25, 2009, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Also don't have the 2009 rulebook yet, but it sounds like RKB has the correct answer using the old rule with the known 2009 rule changes.
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 11:59am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
2009 ASA 4.6.C.8.

When on defense MAKES A PLAY and is protested:

a. BEFORE the next pitch, legal or illegal,
b. before the defense has left the field, and
c. before the umpires have left the field of play;

EFFECT: The unreported substitute is officially in the game and the offensive team has the option to:

a.Take the result of the play.
b.Have the last batter return to bat and assume the ball and strike count. All runners return to the last base occupied prior to the play.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
So, Mike, what's the catch????
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2009, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
Take Mike's play and add that in the fourth the coach does not do anything but in the seventh decides to make a protest after a defensive play by the unreported sub. Sorry Mike could not resist any more. Bored and ennui.

Any thing different?

I was at the clinic and there was some confusion about the wording of the new rule and its interpretation as to when an unreported sub is officially in the game.

Comments on that pt?

If you have the 2009 book and read the rule you might come up with some of the same thoughts they did at the clinic.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Speaking ASA

Top of the 2nd, S1 is told by the coach to take a position in RF, but did not notify the umpire.

In the 4th inning, this player fields a fair batted ball and throws out the tying run at the plate. At this point, the opposing coach visits the PU and tells him that the RF is an unreported substitute.

What action should the umpire take?

Ronald, please sit this one out
Here is the issue. Turn to ASA Rule 4.6.8 & 9.

S1 entered the game in the 2nd inning. In the 4th, the offense protested the Unreported Substitute prior to the next pitch after the player made a play.

In accordance to 4.6.8, this is a valid and the offense gets the option of the play or one of the two do-overs in the book.

The umpire agrees and gives the OC that option. Now, the DC is on the field and cites 4.6.9 as a reason the ruling is wrong. The coach reminds the umpire that the player entered the field and a pitch was thrown. Therefore, the protest was made AFTER a legal pitch made while in the field and should have been considered in the game at that point in time.

Ooops! Now, we all know what we have been doing, but that assumption has finally been challenged because of the recent rule changes and we have been reading that part of the book just a little closer.

Agreeing the wording needs improvement, the official ruling is that rule 4.6.9 should be enforced as if it read the same as 4.6.8 which includes the qualifier of MAKES A PLAY.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Okay, the wording could be better. But, the coach's argument is incorrect, despite his effort; as long as there has been no intervening pitch after an unreported sub makes a play, 4.6.8 applies, and 4.6.9 does not.

Again, the issue isn't when the player is in the game; the substitution rule says she is after taking a position and a pitch or play happens. Nothing anywhere says that makes her reported; and until she is reported or appealed (effectively being reported by the opposing team), she is still unreported.

To suggest she is not in the game would allow the starter to re-enter without being charged a re-entry. Obviously not; and for the starter to be out, someone else is obviously in. That person is a sub; but that doesn't make her reported if she isn't. She is officially in the game; and her status is unreported, still.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2009, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Okay, the wording could be better. But, the coach's argument is incorrect, despite his effort; as long as there has been no intervening pitch after an unreported sub makes a play, 4.6.8 applies, and 4.6.9 does not.
Why not? Are not all of the requirement met considering the present wording?

Is the player not in the game unreported? Has the protest not been made after the pitch, legal or illegal?

Don't get me wrong, I agree with the official ruling, it is just that the rule does not, which will be changed.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Gee, you might think this was some kind of SAT or IQ test instead of a simple umpire test [scenario].

I was chastised for reading too much into the question on the construction of the official bat.

We can't choose which rules to interpret literally while ignoring others. That's why the language of the rule book and the test questions is so important. With 40k umpires to maintain, the one common and critical factor is language.

The agrument that "everyone knows what was meant" simply doesn't fly. Best example is the rule change for the fast and modified pitch game where a ball is called on the batter instead of an illegal pitch, because it "was an illegal pitch and were always intended to be a ball on the batter only." So if I had called that play in the last of the seventh inning and allowed the winning run to score from 3rd base as an illegal pitch, and it was protested by the losing team, how would the ruling come out? Like it's written or how it was intended?

Ted
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
The agrument that "everyone knows what was meant" simply doesn't fly. Best example is the rule change for the fast and modified pitch game where a ball is called on the batter instead of an illegal pitch, because it "was an illegal pitch and were always intended to be a ball on the batter only." So if I had called that play in the last of the seventh inning and allowed the winning run to score from 3rd base as an illegal pitch, and it was protested by the losing team, how would the ruling come out? Like it's written or how it was intended?

Ted
Don't know, Ted. How many times did you allow a BR advance to 1B on a D3K with two outs and no one on 1B? Until a couple years ago, the rule book did not support such a thing.

How many times have you seen an umpire not call a batter out on a ball not above the batter's head and caught in flight that wasn't a foul tip?

There is an entire section in the ASA rule book titled, "TOUCHING BASES IN LEGAL ORDER", yet there is no mention in the rules what that order is.

In Rule 5, to score a run, a player must touch first, second, third and home base. Nowhere does it state in which order they must be touched. If a BR hit the ball to the gap and touched home, second, third and then first would you score the run? The player completed the task required in accordance to what is written in the rules, so would it be overturned upon protest if you scored the run?

If you think my examples are ridiculous, I agree.

Not everything can be reduced to print. Yes, some things get missed or all possible scenarios cannot be noted. Also, because the rules are so intertwined, some possible issues are missed when a change is made in one part of the book that affects another. That is why we have clinics and rules clarifications.

That is why the discussions on boards like this can be so educational. There have been rule changes proposed and some accepted that came directly from this or a similar discussion board.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unreported Substitute Bluefoot Softball 2 Wed May 02, 2007 07:27am
Unreported Substitute WestMichBlue Softball 3 Thu Apr 19, 2007 08:26pm
Unreported substitute rwest Softball 8 Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:57am
Unreported substitute kycat1 Softball 3 Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:43pm
Unreported Substitute rwest Softball 5 Fri Feb 13, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1