The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 1.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 04, 2020, 08:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Retired runner INT?

NFHS:

Was there a case play to cover this:

R1 on 1B, B2 hits a grounder to F5, F5 throws to F4 for the force out and F4 immediately throw and hits R1 in the noggin. I remember reading a case play that says this is not INT and it remains a live ball but, since NFHS left arbiter, I cannot find anything. (it is not in the 2020 book)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 05, 2020, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn View Post
NFHS:

Was there a case play to cover this:

R1 on 1B, B2 hits a grounder to F5, F5 throws to F4 for the force out and F4 immediately throw and hits R1 in the noggin. I remember reading a case play that says this is not INT and it remains a live ball but, since NFHS left arbiter, I cannot find anything. (it is not in the 2020 book)
It partly depends on what the runner does relative to normal path to base, moving toward the throwing lane, etc. There is a long topic somewhere on this forum, I think.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2020, 11:55am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
It partly depends on what the runner does relative to normal path to base, moving toward the throwing lane, etc. There is a long topic somewhere on this forum, I think.
Be careful here. NFHS removed the reference of "intentionally interferes" in rule 8-6-16c back in 2012. Now it just reads, "After being declared out or after scoring, a runner interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner." Your mentioning that the runner moving toward the throwing lane implies intent to interfere, which has not been a criterion for quite a while now.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 06, 2020, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 262
My 2 cents.
Barring intent, it’s never interference if one is hit by a thrown ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 07, 2020, 08:19am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by robbie View Post
My 2 cents.
Barring intent, it’s never interference if one is hit by a thrown ball.
Runner at third, no outs. Fly ball to center. F8 makes the catch. Retired batter trots across the diamond to go into her dugout on the third-base side while F8 throws home to make a play on the tagging runner. Ball hits the retired batter when she's between the circle and home plate.

She showed no real intent to interfere. Giving her the benefit of the doubt, she really just unknowingly put herself in the wrong place at the wrong time. But she prevented the throw from getting to F2 to make a play on the runner. Is this interference? You betcha.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 07, 2020, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Runner at third, no outs. Fly ball to center. F8 makes the catch. Retired batter trots across the diamond to go into her dugout on the third-base side while F8 throws home to make a play on the tagging runner. Ball hits the retired batter when she's between the circle and home plate.

She showed no real intent to interfere. Giving her the benefit of the doubt, she really just unknowingly put herself in the wrong place at the wrong time. But she prevented the throw from getting to F2 to make a play on the runner. Is this interference? You betcha.
OK, so there we have one "extreme", which may be summarized as "player doing some action not common to the game" and thereby interfering with play. But what about the opposite extreme, wherein the retiree does some action very common to the game, and gets in the way of the ball?

If the one originally posed isn't a clear enough case of the latter because she could see the ball coming, how about this one:

1-hopper batted to 1B, fielded there. R1 with her back to the play doesn't know F3 hasn't touched the base. F3 throws to F4, and R1 does a quick turnaround to try to get back to 1B, where she thinks she'd be safe. F4 tags her in the back but she doesn't feel it, only the umpire sees the ball touch her shirt. Then F4, knowing the BR is still forced, attempts a throw that hits the already-retired runner in the back.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2020, 03:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
What about this one.

R1 on first, B2 hits a hard grounder to F6 who is shaded up the middle. R1 knows she will clearly be out, as F6 will reach the bag when R1 is about halfway to 2nd. Knowing this, R1 steps out of the base path towards the middle of the infield. F6's throw is such that it hits R1.

The throw (1) would have or (2) would not have pulled F3 off the base, as she attempted to catch the throw?

R1 is attempting to avoid interfering with the throw, and a somewhat errant throw from F6 to F3 hit R1.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2020, 08:26am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
What about this one.

R1 on first, B2 hits a hard grounder to F6 who is shaded up the middle. R1 knows she will clearly be out, as F6 will reach the bag when R1 is about halfway to 2nd. Knowing this, R1 steps out of the base path towards the middle of the infield. F6's throw is such that it hits R1.

The throw (1) would have or (2) would not have pulled F3 off the base, as she attempted to catch the throw?

R1 is attempting to avoid interfering with the throw, and a somewhat errant throw from F6 to F3 hit R1.
I'm having a hard time envisioning your play. Did F6 actually step on second base? If so, how the heck does her throw to F3 hit the retired R1 who steps towards the middle of the infield? That would be a horribly bad throw.

But if F6 didn't go to second base, and she throws the ball directly to first from where she fielded it, then R1 deviating into the path of the throw can be easily judged as a runner intentionally interfering with a thrown ball. At that point, R1 is still a runner, and not a retired runner, so interference with a thrown ball requires intent. And if she deviated towards the middle of the infield instead of running directly to second, then it's going to look intentional.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2020, 09:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I'm having a hard time envisioning your play. Did F6 actually step on second base? If so, how the heck does her throw to F3 hit the retired R1 who steps towards the middle of the infield? That would be a horribly bad throw.

But if F6 didn't go to second base, and she throws the ball directly to first from where she fielded it, then R1 deviating into the path of the throw can be easily judged as a runner intentionally interfering with a thrown ball. At that point, R1 is still a runner, and not a retired runner, so interference with a thrown ball requires intent. And if she deviated towards the middle of the infield instead of running directly to second, then it's going to look intentional.
Chapmaja needs to clarify the situation. Was F6 trying to take advantage of R1's abandonment of baserunning by throwing directly to 1B?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2020, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Chapmaja needs to clarify the situation. Was F6 trying to take advantage of R1's abandonment of baserunning by throwing directly to 1B?
I was thinking of it as, yes F6 did step on 2nd base, thus R1 is a retired runner.

And yes, it would be a terrible throw, thus the second part of the question about pulling F3 off the base in receiving the throw?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 13, 2022, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: North East, MD
Posts: 198
I am back.
I used to be CecilOne, but lost my password.
Very frustrating without a forum I enjoy and rely on for help. After a year of trying, I ended up having to create a new id; so CecilOne is now Cecil4.

I hope a lot of people I remember are still active.
I already see a couple familiar ids. As always, I'll have lots to say.

This was the last topic I posted before the problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Retired Runner Hit with Throw Manny A Softball 48 Sun May 01, 2022 11:15am
Interference by retired runner? Sco53 Baseball 4 Tue Apr 10, 2012 03:54pm
Can a retired runner be appealed? dash_riprock Baseball 11 Sat Jan 26, 2008 09:22pm
retired runner CecilOne Softball 16 Tue Apr 25, 2006 09:23am
interference by retired runner shipwreck Softball 15 Thu Sep 18, 2003 07:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1