The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 71
Interference by retired runner?

FED game. R1, 1 out. B1 lays down a bunt, is thrown out at first by 2 or 3 steps, then attempts unsuccessfully to dislodge the ball from the glove of F3. R1 has already rounded 2nd at the time of the contact. How should this be ruled?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 12:15pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,239
Same as you would if the interference was by a non-retired runner:

Ball becomes dead immediately.
Retired runner is out (of course, he was already out, but still).
If, in your judgement, the interference prevented a double-play on R1, R1 is also out.
If the interference did NOT prevent a double-play on R1, R1 returns to second base.

5-1-1e
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 12:36pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Define "rounded" ... do you mean rounded and heading to third with a full head of steam? I have an out - definitely a possible play here by F3. If rounded means, took a couple steps around 2nd and began slowing, as if to return to 2nd, I have nothing.

In this case (as in most interferences), you must have a PLAY for there to be interference with a play. Interference with nothing is a dead ball, but still nothing.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
In this case (as in most interferences), you must have a PLAY for there to be interference with a play. Interference with nothing is a dead ball, but still nothing.
+1

I would be somewhat lenient about what constituted a "play" in this interp, but the general idea is correct.

I would also address the sportsmanship issue here.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 10, 2012, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
+1

I would be somewhat lenient about what constituted a "play" in this interp, but the general idea is correct.

I would also address the sportsmanship issue here.
Yessir: in FEDball this is one of two things that constitute the very definition of "Malicious Contact". BR is OUT and done [EJ].
And if I can see a "play" on another runner and not embarass myself, I'm getting that 2d out; but most of the time there is not gonna be a play that passes the grin test.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference by retired runner charliej47 Baseball 16 Mon Jun 22, 2009 09:00am
Can a retired runner be appealed? dash_riprock Baseball 11 Sat Jan 26, 2008 09:22pm
retired runner CecilOne Softball 16 Tue Apr 25, 2006 09:23am
Retired runner called out??? blueump Baseball 6 Wed Apr 28, 2004 04:48pm
interference by retired runner shipwreck Softball 15 Thu Sep 18, 2003 07:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1