The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 06:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Question

NFHS softball rules --- What do you do if a retired runner interferes with a fielder attempting a play on another runner? The rule book says "after being declared out or after scoring, a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner, the ball is dead and the runner closest to home shall be declared out."
I understand that but what do you do if it isn't intentional, if the girl just interferes with a fielder after she was put out, and the fielder couldn't make a play on another runner. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally posted by shipwreck
NFHS softball rules --- What do you do if a retired runner interferes with a fielder attempting a play on another runner? The rule book says "after being declared out or after scoring, a runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner, the ball is dead and the runner closest to home shall be declared out."
I understand that but what do you do if it isn't intentional, if the girl just interferes with a fielder after she was put out, and the fielder couldn't make a play on another runner. Dave
If the rule dictates the interference be intentional act, then I guess an unintentional act wouldn't be interference.

Of course, there is always that "umpire's judgment" thing.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Dave,
Mike's right. If it is not judged by an umpire to be intentional, it's not interference. The retired runner is not expected to "poof" & then reappear on the bench.

Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally posted by Steve M
Dave,
Mike's right. If it is not judged by an umpire to be intentional, it's not interference. The retired runner is not expected to "poof" & then reappear on the bench.

Steve M
That's true, but let's be honest. How many of us wish we could arrange that to happen?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,362
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
That's true, but let's be honest. How many of us wish we could arrange that to happen? [/B]
I'd rather be able to get an out, especially if it's an over-macho AA.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
I agree with the others that the rule is specific about intentional interference only on the retired runner, but I'm curious as to what prompted the question.

In other words, what does this "unintentional interference" look like? Was there a play or something that raised this question?

Just curious.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: north central Pa
Posts: 2,360
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally posted by Steve M
Dave,
Mike's right. If it is not judged by an umpire to be intentional, it's not interference. The retired runner is not expected to "poof" & then reappear on the bench.

Steve M
That's true, but let's be honest. How many of us wish we could arrange that to happen?
ME!!!!!!
But some of them - I just want them to disappear, period.

Steve M
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Andy, yes we did have a play last night that prompted this question. Runner on first, ground ball forced runner at second base. She slid going in to second and then stood up and got in second baseman's way, not allowing the second baseman a play at first. She tried a play but had to rainbow her thtow so it was no where close to getting the girl at first. You could tell it wasn't intentional. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 16, 2003, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,550
Quote:
Originally posted by shipwreck
Andy, yes we did have a play last night that prompted this question. Runner on first, ground ball forced runner at second base. She slid going in to second and then stood up and got in second baseman's way, not allowing the second baseman a play at first. She tried a play but had to rainbow her thtow so it was no where close to getting the girl at first. You could tell it wasn't intentional. Dave
If the fielder received the ball in time to put out a runner and couldn't get rid of the ball before the runner completed her slide and then stood up (even on a pop-up slide), the only way there is a double play is if the BR is my dead 102 year-old grandmother.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
If the fielder received the ball in time to put out a runner and couldn't get rid of the ball before the runner completed her slide and then stood up (even on a pop-up slide), the only way there is a double play is if the BR is my dead 102 year-old grandmother.
Good point - for there to be interference, there has to be a play that is being interfered with.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
How about this scenario then. Runner coming from first base into second. She slides into second hoping to throw the timing of the second baseman off as to not be able to complete the double play at first? The runner going into second would be retired because of the force. If there had been a runner on third base at the beginning of the play, and she hadn't scored at this time, would you rule her out? Dave
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 12:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by shipwreck
How about this scenario then. Runner coming from first base into second. She slides into second hoping to throw the timing of the second baseman off as to not be able to complete the double play at first? The runner going into second would be retired because of the force. If there had been a runner on third base at the beginning of the play, and she hadn't scored at this time, would you rule her out? Dave
Not if it was a legal slide.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 04:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 476
Send a message via ICQ to SamNVa Send a message via AIM to SamNVa Send a message via Yahoo to SamNVa
Quote:
Originally posted by shipwreck
How about this scenario then. Runner coming from first base into second. She slides into second hoping to throw the timing of the second baseman off as to not be able to complete the double play at first? The runner going into second would be retired because of the force. If there had been a runner on third base at the beginning of the play, and she hadn't scored at this time, would you rule her out? Dave
Shipwreck,

Here is where you get the controversy:
    Runner coming from first base into second is Ol' Slo' Jo'(sephine). She does not slide into second, in fact she never quite reaches second, she just keeps plodding toward 2nd, as F4 receives the throw and turns to relay to F3 for the DP. Now as F4 turns, she sees OSJo right in her throwing lane, so she hesitates, then side steps and throws around Jo to F3 much too late to complete the DP.
So what's the call Fellas?

SamC

[Edited by SamNVa on Sep 17th, 2003 at 04:10 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 731
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Tom, why wouldn't you rule the runner that was going from third to home out? The rule says if the retired runner intentionally interferes with a defensive player's opportunity to make a play on another runner, the runner closest to home would be declared out.
In my scenario this is what happened. Dave
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 17, 2003, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Because a legal slide is legal contact. Because if the fielder at 2B still has the ball when the slide is underway either the fielder is the slowest player on the planet or the runner was already very close to the base and probably into her slide before the out was made.

Now, if she does a swipe with her feet at the fielder, or comes in cleats high, that's another matter.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1