The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 12:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Can a retired runner be appealed?

Related to the "missing the plate" sitch:

R1, R3, 2 out. Batter hits a ground ball to deep short. R1 rounds 2nd, but misses the bag. R1 continues toward 3rd but is tagged out by F6 for the 3rd out just after R3 scores legally (touches the plate). PU signals "score that run" on the time play. Can the defense appeal the miss at 2nd to take off the run (R1's out would be a force)? Can you appeal a runner who is already out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,567
Yes, of course (in this situation).
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 12:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 543
This is the fourth out rule.

Edited to add: I'm right.

Last edited by canadaump6; Sat Jan 26, 2008 at 02:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Yes I know that, but the problem is R1 would be BOTH the 3rd and 4th outs. I'm not sure you can do that. The rules only speak of appealing a runner, not a retired runner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 01:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: At the base of the mountains
Posts: 377
Absouletly on this one, the appeal would be upheld. No run.
__________________
Its' not a matter of being right or wrong, it's a matter of working hard to get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 01:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
Yes I know that, but the problem is R1 would be BOTH the 3rd and 4th outs. I'm not sure you can do that. The rules only speak of appealing a runner, not a retired runner.
Yes, you can. J/R has a similar scenario and both it and JEA, I believe, word it as the fourth out, in essence, replacing and becoming the third out.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 01:42am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
Yes I know that, but the problem is R1 would be BOTH the 3rd and 4th outs. I'm not sure you can do that. The rules only speak of appealing a runner, not a retired runner.
That's why they have ADVANTAGEOUS fourth out rules.
__________________
I have nipples, Greg. Can you milk me?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 02:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Duh. The question is can the same guy be out twice.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 02:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarthB
Yes, you can. J/R has a similar scenario and both it and JEA, I believe, word it as the fourth out, in essence, replacing and becoming the third out.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In theory, a runner could be out four times. Abel on 3B, 2 outs. Baker hits a ball off the fence and is out at home for the third out. Defense appeals Baker's miss of 3B for the 4th out, his miss of 2B for the 5th out, and his miss of 1B for advantageous 6th out.

However, it may be that since the misses at 3B and 2B are not advantageous (they don't nullify the run), they would not be recognized. But I don't think that appealing a non-advantageous base would prevent an appeal at the advantageous one (1B in this case).
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!

Last edited by greymule; Sat Jan 26, 2008 at 12:30pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadaump6
This is the fourth out rule.

Edited to add: I'm right.
Your first statement is correct, but not the answer to the question.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 09:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 543
Situation very similar to OP, described in Jaksa/Roder:

"R3 and R1, two outs. The batter singles. R1 misses second and is thrown out at third for the third out. The defense's appeal is upheld at second: this is an advantageous fourth out and supersedes the out at third- R3 does not score". (Jaksa/Roder, page 86, example 2).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
123 + 86 = retired JugglingReferee Football 4 Fri Aug 04, 2006 03:41pm
Simple Question on Appealed Play KathyCG Softball 4 Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:54am
retired runner CecilOne Softball 16 Tue Apr 25, 2006 09:23am
Retired runner called out??? blueump Baseball 6 Wed Apr 28, 2004 04:48pm
interference by retired runner shipwreck Softball 15 Thu Sep 18, 2003 07:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1