The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2003, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Yes, a fielder who obviously steps into foul territory off the bag just so she can then place her foot on the orange part on the theory that the play is now coming from the foul side would be courting trouble. Of course, it would be pretty tough to think that fast, and probably easier just to stay on the white. And yes, you would get an argument.

But in the end, if the fielder has to leave the base and go into foul territory to catch the throw, can that fielder then touch the orange? Or does the throw actually have to get by to be considered errant?

And what about F3 jumping up and backward to snag a wild throw and coming down on the orange? Since the ball didn't get by, I guess that's not an out.

On the following play, I've called an out: ground ball (fair) to F3 bounces off her leg into foul territory. F3 then picks up the ball and, from foul ground, touches the orange. I hope I've been calling that one correctly.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1