The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 14, 2003, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
This particular issue came up in the spring, and as I remember, the consensus was that on a throw that drew the fielder into foul territory, the fielder could not use the orange base as an extension. However, once the fielder got the ball in foul ground (and was not on the base), she could then use the orange.

Example: BR hits ground ball to F6, whose throw to 1B pulls F3 off the bag into foul territory. F6 can now use the orange base. I think this interpretation was based on the premise that the play was now coming from the foul side. A fast-thinking fielder would know to catch the ball off the base (in foul territory) and then touch the orange. Not a play we expect to see often.

However, I'm not sure anyone was certain that this interpretation was correct. Perhaps ASA will provide clarification.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1