The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
From what I've heard, the NCAA rule really is an issue of not wanting to damage tarps by players with cleats climbing on them. Let them climb on fences, walls, etc., to make circus catches to their hearts desire. But not the tarps.
Then maybe the tarp shouldn't be placed in a position where that can happen.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Our D1 & D2 NFHS Finals were held at a college field which had a tarp rolled up down the left field line.

Prior to the games, our crews were given the ground rules for dealing with the tarp. It was basically what's been described here: leaning against it, having a hand on it was OK, but no jumping on it. Should a ball get lodged behind it, it would be a DB. We had no issues in our games, but it was something that was addressed in advance.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
That's close to what I stated as how we were instructed at our rules clinic (a foot may be used to steady ones self on the tarp- no standing on it- but that foot must not be in contact with the tarp at the moment of the catch.

How does one "reestablish" ones self, when (before the catch) one's foot is completely in play and one foot steps completely on far side of the line? Does just lifting the foot up (before catching) do it, or does the "bad" foot have to retouch in play?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 12:53pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
How does one "reestablish" ones self, when (before the catch) one's foot is completely in play and one foot steps completely on far side of the line? Does just lifting the foot up (before catching) do it, or does the "bad" foot have to retouch in play?
Well, talking FED, there are two Notes under rule 5-1-1i when dealing with this that, IMO, don't definitively answer your question.

" c. If a fielder has one foot in play and the other foot in the air, she legally may catch, field or throw the ball unless her entire foot contacts the ground in dead- ball territory, at which time the ball becomes dead, no play is allowed, and the penalty is applied.

" d. If a fielder contacts dead-ball territory with any part of the body except the foot, she is considered out of play. No play is allowed, and the penalty is applied. When the fielder completely leaves and then re-establishes herself within liveball territory (both feet in live-ball territory), a catch would be allowed."

So "c" says one foot in LBT, and one foot in the air is okay. But is that only okay if that foot in the air never touched DBT? Or is it also okay if it does touch DBT, and then is brought back over LBT in the air? Seems to me "c" only addresses what happens when the foot that is in the air never touched DBT to begin with.

And "d" says that in order for a fielder to re-establish herself in LBT, she needs to have both feet in LBT. But does that only apply when she completely left LBT initially? Your question involves only one foot leaving LBT and touching DBT, not both feet.

Bottom line: I'm not sure.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
If one foot is in the air, then a catch (legal), then the foot in the air comes down in DBT, the player is in DBT and the ball becomes dead. Runner(s) (if any) would be advanced a base on the catch and carry rule.

If the player overruns the play and enters DBT (one or both feet), she can re-establish by getting both feet on the ground in LBT. If she then makes a catch, it would be legal. Assuming she somehow didn't find her way BACK to DBT, she could also throw the ball legally.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 05:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
the recent posting of USA/NCAA/NFHS differences indicates that FED requires "retouching" in live area to reestablish. USA/NCAA does not.

A fly ball out over the tarp would require reaching out, one hand on the tarp. A foot on the tarp in this situation would be impossible to lift up before the catch.

A can o' corn catch near the tarp is more easily handled by steadying yourself with a foot on the tarp, lifting off before the catch. Reaching down with your hand could mess you up (that tarp is not very high).

USA/NCAA rules seem to allow for that. FED, explicitly not.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
contacting fair ball while in foul ball territory Little Jimmy Softball 20 Thu Jun 19, 2014 01:02pm
Power lines over the field in live ball territory metroump9 Baseball 7 Fri May 11, 2012 12:38pm
Dead Ball Territory - ASA IRISHMAFIA Softball 4 Tue Jan 31, 2012 07:14pm
Handling the ball in dead ball territory NCASAUmp Softball 12 Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:56am
Ball thrown into Dead ball territory MASS F/B UMP Softball 11 Mon May 04, 2009 11:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1