View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 07, 2017, 05:08pm
jmkupka jmkupka is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
the recent posting of USA/NCAA/NFHS differences indicates that FED requires "retouching" in live area to reestablish. USA/NCAA does not.

A fly ball out over the tarp would require reaching out, one hand on the tarp. A foot on the tarp in this situation would be impossible to lift up before the catch.

A can o' corn catch near the tarp is more easily handled by steadying yourself with a foot on the tarp, lifting off before the catch. Reaching down with your hand could mess you up (that tarp is not very high).

USA/NCAA rules seem to allow for that. FED, explicitly not.
Reply With Quote