If one foot is in the air, then a catch (legal), then the foot in the air comes down in DBT, the player is in DBT and the ball becomes dead. Runner(s) (if any) would be advanced a base on the catch and carry rule.
If the player overruns the play and enters DBT (one or both feet), she can re-establish by getting both feet on the ground in LBT. If she then makes a catch, it would be legal. Assuming she somehow didn't find her way BACK to DBT, she could also throw the ball legally.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
|