The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 31, 2016, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Well, actually the mechanics you are citing are for tag up responsibilities. IMO, the attempt to double off R1 on a line drive, is the first play in the infield and belongs to the BU
Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?

And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?

My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 31, 2016, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?

And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?

My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?
One of the most often misstated (and missed on the field) mechanics. First play in the infield relates to batted balls that are first fielded by an infielder, making what NFHS calls an initial play. Any ball first fielded by an outfielder is either fly ball coverage, or base hit coverage (even if a force play to 3rd by F7!!).
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 31, 2016, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?

And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?

My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?
At 3rd, even if first play, from the OF is PU.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 31, 2016, 08:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
At 3rd, even if first play, from the OF is PU.
So we are in violent agreement.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 31, 2016, 10:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?

And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?

My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?
How can a ball fielded by an OF be considered the "first throw in the infield"?
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Wed Aug 31, 2016 at 10:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2016, 06:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
How can a ball fielded by an OF be considered the "first throw in the infield"?
It's not, obviously. I'll go back to (FP):

With runners on first and second and less than 2 outs, who should make the live ball appeal call on a runner leaving too early at second base?

The mechanic says the PU is responsible for the tag up on the runner on 2B.

And it also says the BU is responsible for any play at 2B.

Appeal play: A play on a rule violation on which an umpire may not make a decision until requested by a manager, coach or player.

Play: An attempt by a defensive player to retire an offensive player. A pitch is not considered a play except as it relates to an appeal.

I'll propose that a live ball appeal at second base that originated from a throw from an outfielder is a "play" and should be called by the BU.

If play has ceased, ball returned to F1 in the circle, and then the defense properly appeals, this would result in a dead ball appeal and I'd suggest that this call belongs to the PU.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball

Last edited by Tru_in_Blu; Thu Sep 01, 2016 at 06:13am. Reason: sp
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2016, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
It's not, obviously. I'll go back to (FP):

With runners on first and second and less than 2 outs, who should make the live ball appeal call on a runner leaving too early at second base?

The mechanic says the PU is responsible for the tag up on the runner on 2B.

And it also says the BU is responsible for any play at 2B.

Appeal play: A play on a rule violation on which an umpire may not make a decision until requested by a manager, coach or player.

Play: An attempt by a defensive player to retire an offensive player. A pitch is not considered a play except as it relates to an appeal.

I'll propose that a live ball appeal at second base that originated from a throw from an outfielder is a "play" and should be called by the BU.

If play has ceased, ball returned to F1 in the circle, and then the defense properly appeals, this would result in a dead ball appeal and I'd suggest that this call belongs to the PU.
All appeal plays are plays but not all plays are appeal plays .

I appreciate where you're trying to get with this and I think it's basically right as to result.

But if the runner at 2nd does tag but just leaves a touch before the ball is caught, that's not meant to be taken by the BU even if that appeal is the first play. Now if everybody in the park saw her leave early and the only question is whether the ball beat her to the bag, we definitely have a call that should belong to the BU. But I don't think that distinction (nor the one you propose) is actually what the mechanics say (as a result of inartful drafting). The mechanics just say that some tag up appeals belong to the PU. And many times they assign the play that would correspond to that appeal to the BU.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 01, 2016, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
All appeal plays are plays but not all plays are appeal plays .

I appreciate where you're trying to get with this and I think it's basically right as to result.

But if the runner at 2nd does tag but just leaves a touch before the ball is caught, that's not meant to be taken by the BU even if that appeal is the first play. Now if everybody in the park saw her leave early and the only question is whether the ball beat her to the bag, we definitely have a call that should belong to the BU. But I don't think that distinction (nor the one you propose) is actually what the mechanics say (as a result of inartful drafting). The mechanics just say that some tag up appeals belong to the PU. And many times they assign the play that would correspond to that appeal to the BU.

Speaking ASA, it should be noted that there is an inconsistency as some of the sections of the mechanics refer to coverage on a "fly ball to the outfield" while others note "fly ball coverage". IMO, that is an indication the references are to balls to the outfield.

AFA balls in the infield, there is no assignment of any type of appeal responsibilities outside of the normal play & base assignments.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live ball appeal BuggBob Softball 31 Tue Aug 24, 2010 09:42pm
Live Ball Appeal MichaelVA2000 Softball 8 Tue Oct 23, 2007 06:44pm
Live ball appeal IRISHMAFIA Softball 23 Tue Oct 09, 2007 04:17pm
live ball appeal? umpharp Softball 20 Tue Feb 14, 2006 08:43pm
Live ball appeal oppool Softball 6 Thu Mar 01, 2001 10:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1