Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
How can a ball fielded by an OF be considered the "first throw in the infield"?
|
It's not, obviously. I'll go back to (FP):
With runners on first and second and less than 2 outs, who should make the live ball appeal call on a runner leaving too early at second base?
The mechanic says the PU is responsible for the tag up on the runner on 2B.
And it also says the
BU is responsible for any play at 2B.
Appeal play: A play on a rule violation on which an umpire may not make a decision until requested by a manager, coach or player.
Play: An attempt by a defensive player to retire an offensive player. A pitch is not considered a play except as it relates to an appeal.
I'll propose that a live ball appeal at second base that originated from a throw from an outfielder is a "play" and should be called by the BU.
If play has ceased, ball returned to F1 in the circle, and then the defense properly appeals, this would result in a dead ball appeal and I'd suggest that this call belongs to the PU.