View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 30, 2016, 03:14pm
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Tru has raised an excellent point. R1 and R2, base umpire in the C position behind F6. On an caught infield line drive where the runners have left the base before the batted ball is touched, the book says the PU makes the call at 2B? I assure you this gets called by every BU partner I've ever worked with. Semi-applicable MLB video example: Bryant's line-drive double play | MLB.com

While this IS a live-ball appeal, it's not a "tag-up & advance" appeal, which is probably what Andy was referring to.
I pregame out of this for the call at third. Never even thought of the call at 2nd mattering. I tried to pre-game out of this with our UIC and she told me I should just go with the assignments in the book.

But take this a step further, if you are following the book and the appeal is executed by tagging the runner while off the bag. Whose call? It's indistinguishable from the first play. (It's an out whether an appeal or not.)
Reply With Quote