
Wed Aug 31, 2016, 03:18pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu
Logically, this makes sense to me. By extension, if the line drive or fly ball caught in the outfield is thrown to an infielder in an attempt to double off R1, is this, too, the first play in the infield?
And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"?
My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?
|
At 3rd, even if first play, from the OF is PU.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
|