![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
So I've never quite understood why a BR overrunning first and turning toward second is considered an appeal. (It has to be executed by tagging the runner who would be out anyway.) But under what theory is that an appeal and going off to wander around foul territory is not. Just because that's literally what it says?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The only thing 8.8.I does is exempt a BR/R from being tagged out after overrunning 1B when returning directly to the base. If the player does not meet the demands of the rule, this is simply an active runner who is in jeopardy of being tagged out as per 8.7.2. If they want to extend that protection to anytime the runner does not attempt to advance to 2B, the word "directly" should be removed from the rule
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Runner touches ball to ground | Reffing Rev. | Football | 7 | Mon Oct 18, 2010 05:42am |
| Runner touches batted ball on home plate | tibear | Baseball | 13 | Sun Jul 29, 2007 01:25pm |
| 3rd strike dropped "diversion" when batter/runner is already out | chuck chopper | Softball | 14 | Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:01pm |
| Dropped third strike hitting a batter-runner. | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:07pm |
| Dropped third strike, batter-runner kicks the ball | Gre144 | Baseball | 9 | Tue Mar 11, 2003 11:28am |