![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
If I read the OP correctly, the BR/R did not leave the field; but was tagged by a live ball while off the base and not returning directly. That is an out, if it is treated as an appeal.
We have discussed recognizing such a play as an appeal several times; which is the deciding factor in this case. I would say it is; if the fielder(s) acted as if they were trying to catch the BR/R in a running violation. If the fielder just tagged the BR/R haphazardly with no apparent intent; then it's back to a question of what constitutes an appeal. BTW, the OP is very well done, clear and lacking useless embellishment. ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Runner touches ball to ground | Reffing Rev. | Football | 7 | Mon Oct 18, 2010 05:42am |
Runner touches batted ball on home plate | tibear | Baseball | 13 | Sun Jul 29, 2007 01:25pm |
3rd strike dropped "diversion" when batter/runner is already out | chuck chopper | Softball | 14 | Thu Jul 24, 2003 10:01pm |
Dropped third strike hitting a batter-runner. | Illini_Ref | Baseball | 6 | Wed Apr 30, 2003 10:07pm |
Dropped third strike, batter-runner kicks the ball | Gre144 | Baseball | 9 | Tue Mar 11, 2003 11:28am |