![]() |
|
|||
I'm still researching...
I found a case play from 2007. It reads: PLAY 8.6-22 (FP and SP with stealing) With R1 on 1B, F2 drops the pitch and the plate umpire, in an effort to get out of the way, accidentally kicks the ball into the dugout. RULING: R1 is awarded 1 base from the base held at the time of the pitch. This is treated the same as a wild pitch. (8-5C) Section C specifically refers to: "a pitched ball that remains live becomes blocked or goes out of live ball territory." Section G talks to "when the ball is live and is overthrown or is blocked". So "C" would give the defense a break anytime there are multiple runners on a pitch that gets away, they could just kick it out of play to limit further advance by base runners. I don't like it. I'd prefer the 2-base award if the defense knocked the ball out of play either accidentally or intentionally.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Question? Ball in flight, same status? | jritchie | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:10am |
Clock Status? | jtparker12 | Football | 7 | Tue Oct 15, 2013 06:11pm |
NCAA - Status of ball mechanic | Angler | Softball | 15 | Tue Mar 31, 2009 01:42pm |
Status of the BRD | PeteBooth | Baseball | 21 | Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:11pm |
Front Court Status of Ball | CanadaRef | Basketball | 4 | Mon Oct 15, 2001 09:02pm |