![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Any specifics on the pitched ball scenario?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
Could the interpretation be clearer? Yes, but as is routinely demonstrated on these types of boards, folks don't always accept general statements or interpretations well.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
It was actually a clarification, not a case play. July 2009 clarifications.
Play 2: With no outs and R1 on 2B, B2 hits a line drive to F7. R1 is off on the hit and headed toward 3B when F7 misses the sinking line drive and knocks the ball forward on the ground in front of him. While running in and trying to scoop up the ball, F7 kicks the ball into the 3B dugout. When the ball entered the 3B dugout, R1 is two steps from 3B and B2 is not yet to 1B. Which bases should R1 and B2 be awarded? RULING: R1 is awarded home and B2 is awarded 2B. The ball being kicked into dead ball territory would be treated the same as if F7 threw the ball into dead ball territory. Each runner would be awarded two bases from the time the ball left F7’s foot. (Rule 8, Section 5G) Yes, the clarification is based on a batted ball, but it states the ball being kicked into dead ball territory would be treated exactly the same as if the ball had been thrown into dead ball territory. As I said on a similar post on another board to the same question, if F2 had picked up the ball and thrown it into the dugout what would the base award be? |
|
|||
I'm still researching...
I found a case play from 2007. It reads: PLAY 8.6-22 (FP and SP with stealing) With R1 on 1B, F2 drops the pitch and the plate umpire, in an effort to get out of the way, accidentally kicks the ball into the dugout. RULING: R1 is awarded 1 base from the base held at the time of the pitch. This is treated the same as a wild pitch. (8-5C) Section C specifically refers to: "a pitched ball that remains live becomes blocked or goes out of live ball territory." Section G talks to "when the ball is live and is overthrown or is blocked". So "C" would give the defense a break anytime there are multiple runners on a pitch that gets away, they could just kick it out of play to limit further advance by base runners. I don't like it. I'd prefer the 2-base award if the defense knocked the ball out of play either accidentally or intentionally.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. Last edited by CecilOne; Thu Jan 28, 2016 at 11:56am. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'd also note that the July 2009 clarification is somewhat problematic because it makes section K meaningless. That's the rule for when a ball is kicked or pushed intentionally out of play. But if we treat an accidental kick like a throw then we are treating it like an intentional kick and the whole thing seems rather a convoluted mess. |
|
|||
Quote:
Back to my original post, I think I've now learned that a pitched ball remains a pitched ball until it has been picked up by the defense. And, that a pitched ball that is moving or has come to rest that is kicked to DBT by either a defensive player or the PU would result in a 1-base award from TOP. And while still considered a live ball (prior to going to DBT) it does not warrant a 2-base award. There's some good questions on this year's exam. (And one obviously egregiously wrong answer.)
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Question? Ball in flight, same status? | jritchie | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:10am |
Clock Status? | jtparker12 | Football | 7 | Tue Oct 15, 2013 06:11pm |
NCAA - Status of ball mechanic | Angler | Softball | 15 | Tue Mar 31, 2009 01:42pm |
Status of the BRD | PeteBooth | Baseball | 21 | Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:11pm |
Front Court Status of Ball | CanadaRef | Basketball | 4 | Mon Oct 15, 2001 09:02pm |