Forum: Baseball
Sun May 01, 2011, 10:12am
|
|
Replies: 2
Views: 1,342
|
Forum: Baseball
Sat Apr 30, 2011, 09:38pm
|
|
Replies: 2
Views: 1,342
R2 & R3 BU position NCAA D3
I was watching a Division III NCAA game today, and I noticed the base umpire (2-Man) moving into the B-position with runners on 2nd and 3rd only and no outs. Is this something new to CCA mechanics?
|
Forum: Baseball
Sat Apr 30, 2011, 07:14am
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 3,974
|
Forum: Baseball
Sat Apr 30, 2011, 05:38am
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 3,974
|
Forum: Baseball
Thu Apr 21, 2011, 02:19am
|
|
Replies: 35
Views: 5,945
I assume all runners are trying to reach the...
I assume all runners are trying to reach the plate. A decision has to be made whether the ensuing collision as depicted in the OP was "accidental or deliberate" with regard to the Babe Ruth baseball...
|
Forum: Baseball
Tue Apr 19, 2011, 09:17am
|
|
Replies: 35
Views: 5,945
"...What particular BR rule do you use?..."
...
"...What particular BR rule do you use?..."
Babe Ruth has in place for all divisions the "Contact Rule":
"If a runner attempting to to reach home plate intentionally and maliciously runs into...
|
Forum: Baseball
Sat Apr 16, 2011, 04:08am
|
|
Replies: 12
Views: 2,306
|
Forum: Baseball
Wed Apr 13, 2011, 05:27am
|
|
Replies: 71
Views: 9,245
Kylejt wrote: "...On a play like this, the...
Kylejt wrote: "...On a play like this, the manager needs to do his job. He needs to go to the PU, ask what he had, and if he'd get help from the BU on the call..."
A similar incident like this...
|
Forum: Baseball
Fri Apr 01, 2011, 03:23am
|
|
Replies: 11
Views: 2,960
In Fed baseball, if F1 is on the rubber with...
In Fed baseball, if F1 is on the rubber with runners on, it is a balk if he goes to the mouth (regardless whether he wipes or not) unless there were allowances made (usually at the plate conference)...
|
Forum: Baseball
Sat Mar 19, 2011, 05:56pm
|
|
Replies: 27
Views: 4,331
|
Forum: Baseball
Sat Mar 19, 2011, 04:54am
|
|
Replies: 27
Views: 4,331
Thanks Michael for your comment.
However,...
Thanks Michael for your comment.
However, can you refer me to the 2011 rule that you indicate says: "The fielder must have possession ('secure possession' is redundant) of the ball before...
|
Forum: Baseball
Fri Mar 18, 2011, 04:01pm
|
|
Replies: 27
Views: 4,331
jecicone: "F2 is set up in a blocking position...
jecicone: "F2 is set up in a blocking position on the 3B line. He has to "reach" for the throw to the 1B side of home plate, but "gloves" the throw before the R2 arrives"
OBS. The answer is in...
|
Forum: Baseball
Fri Mar 18, 2011, 03:41am
|
|
Replies: 27
Views: 4,331
|
Forum: Baseball
Wed Feb 16, 2011, 04:58am
|
|
Replies: 10
Views: 2,347
|
Forum: Baseball
Sat Jan 15, 2011, 11:25pm
|
|
Replies: 12
Views: 4,224
I brought up this situation because recently...
I brought up this situation because recently several umpires and myself watched the Jim Evans Diamond Challenge DVD - a selection of 25 plays in which you make the call from a multiple choice listing...
|
Forum: Baseball
Fri Jan 14, 2011, 03:27am
|
|
Replies: 12
Views: 4,224
Running Start behind Third
I had always thought that an R3 who established a running start behind 3rd base during a tag up would be called out in a similar manner as a runner receiving a coach's assist, or a following runner...
|
Forum: Baseball
Fri Jan 14, 2011, 01:29am
|
|
Replies: 9
Views: 2,479
"...For what it's worth, there is no...
"...For what it's worth, there is no contradiction..." between 2.5.1 (E) and 2.16.1 (D)
So, in a FED game accoprding to 2.5.1 (E), if the batter unintentionally drops his bat into the pathway of...
|
Forum: Baseball
Wed Dec 29, 2010, 09:26pm
|
|
Replies: 10
Views: 9,945
I'm currently down in Florida attending the Jim...
I'm currently down in Florida attending the Jim Evans' Florida Classic - a 4 1/2 day classroom, field, and cage training clinic (12/27 thru 12/31) at the Osceola Sports Complex in Kissimmee. I spoke...
|
Forum: Baseball
Wed Dec 29, 2010, 04:17am
|
|
Replies: 8
Views: 2,821
|
Forum: Baseball
Fri Dec 24, 2010, 02:53am
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 5,876
|
Forum: Baseball
Thu Dec 23, 2010, 06:22pm
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 5,876
|
Forum: Baseball
Tue Oct 26, 2010, 08:06pm
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 2,669
"The OP ...didn't specifically say 2-man."
...
"The OP ...didn't specifically say 2-man."
The essence of my OP was about 2-man mechanics, and I thought it could be easily inferred. However, my second post stated it directly:
"By "upper...
|
Forum: Baseball
Tue Oct 26, 2010, 03:12am
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 2,669
Thanks for the responses men. I'm now thinking...
Thanks for the responses men. I'm now thinking that moving to the B position is pretty much still optional unless specifically designated by a member's organisation/league.
By "upper level" I had...
|
Forum: Baseball
Mon Oct 25, 2010, 02:59am
|
|
Replies: 15
Views: 2,669
2-Man System Mechanic
The position of the BU in 2-Man mechanics with a runner on third only is in the C position. This is the standard as it is written in the CCA (2008), PBUC (2006), and NYSBUA (Jan 2010), and I have...
|
Forum: Baseball
Wed Oct 13, 2010, 06:09am
|
|
Replies: 26
Views: 4,306
|