![]() |
|
|
|||
In 4-29- LAA@TB game, Felipe Lopez lined a ball to left center and LAA CF Peter Bourjos made a diving catch. After hitting the ground, his glove came off with the ball in it.
He picked up glove and took ball out and threw back to IF and out was recorded. "Jaksa/Roder: A line drive at the pitcher is gloved airborne, but the glove/ball combination is ripped off the pitcher's hand and drops to the ground, the ball still in the glove: no catch. A glove not attached to the hand of the fielder is equivalent to the ground." So the MLB umpires got it wrong? |
|
|||
Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | LAA@TB: Bourjos dives to take a hit from Lopez - Video | MLB.com: Multimedia
In viewing this play, I do think there was a voluntary release and therefore, they got it right IMO. |
|
|||
Quote:
Thanks for posting the replay. Yes, I would go with the MLB umpire's call... |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Catch with illegal glove disallowed. | bsaucer | Baseball | 4 | Wed Mar 02, 2011 08:52pm |
detached equipment | ggk | Baseball | 17 | Sun Jan 20, 2008 01:21am |
Detached Equipment | rwest | Softball | 6 | Fri May 05, 2006 01:09pm |
Detached base | Alan G | Baseball | 2 | Sun Apr 28, 2002 08:00am |
Detached Equiptment | dan_renninger | Baseball | 4 | Sun Mar 17, 2002 11:59am |