![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
AIUI, both teams were onside at the instant the ball was made ready for play, correct? Next question is, when the DT entered the neutral zone, was the snapper on the ball, near the ball, or was team A not even close to lined up yet? If team A was not even close, why didn't the wing official (How many do you have in freshman football?) come in to shoo the DT out of the NZ? If the snapper was on the ball, why wasn't it whistled dead? The only remaining possibility is that team A was coming to the line in a hurry and close to it when the DT entered the NZ. Is that what it was, and was the course followed, i.e. flagging encroachment as the ball is put in play, correct? It seems like Fed rules are geared as much as possible to avoiding such a situation, but is this the one little gap they left that makes it happen? If that last condition is what actually applied, then why isn't that a foul that occurred as part of the live ball portion of the down, allowing team A an untimed down if they wind up needing it to put the ball in play? Or does what Reffing Rev. wrote apply? I.e. does the encroachment prevent the ball from being put in play? |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Extending a quarter | eyezen | Football | 3 | Tue Oct 05, 2010 06:20am |
| End of period....... | DrMooreReferee | Football | 6 | Fri Jul 22, 2005 04:18pm |
| End of a period | batreferee | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 26, 2004 05:10pm |
| Extending a period for a foul--NF | Bill D | Football | 8 | Tue Oct 28, 2003 12:57pm |
| End of Period | tribeast13 | Basketball | 2 | Sun Nov 04, 2001 08:17am |