The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2003, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 39
For many years, Rule 3-3-3 (or its predecessor) has stated:

"A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down, one of the following occurs:
a. There was a foul, other than unsportsmanlike or non player, by either team and the penalty is accepted."

The current version of 3-3-3 has deleted the words "last timed down" and replaced it with "last down of the period".

Is this a change or more sloppy NF editing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2003, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
I think they changed it so that if that same situation happened again (like the one that made us run an untimed down in the first place - accepted foul ect.), we'd run another untimed down on top of the one we just ran. It's not a 'last timed down' in that case, just a 'last down'.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2003, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 39
Extending a period for a foul --NF

Here's the situation.

A scores as time expires for the period. On the successful try, there is OPI. We all know that no points are scored and there is no replay of the try. But the try was the last down of the period. Do we have a kick off? We never would have before.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2003, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
The change is an editorial change for this year. If you look in the front of your rule book, you'll see that 3-3-3 is listed.

As for your play, if B accepts the penalty, the points are no good, the down is not replayed and the half is over.

[Edited by BktBallRef on Oct 28th, 2003 at 11:55 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 27, 2003, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 39
Extending a period for a foul --NF

I agree that 3-3-3 as now written is the result of an "editorial change". However, generally editorial changes do not result in changes in game administration.

I agree that under the new "last down" language, we would need an untimed kick off. However, what is your support for enforcing the OPI yardage on the kick off? That would require succeeding spot enforcement.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2003, 01:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Re: Extending a period for a foul --NF

Quote:
Originally posted by Bill D
I agree that 3-3-3 as now written is the result of an "editorial change". However, generally editorial changes do not result in changes in game administration.

I agree that under the new "last down" language, we would need an untimed kick off. However, what is your support for enforcing the OPI yardage on the kick off? That would require succeeding spot enforcement.
I'm not sure about that one either. Quite honestly, I'm not sure the rules provide us with an answer to that question.

BTW, that issue would exist even without the untimed down issue. If OPI occurs on a try, we know the down isn't replayed but is the 15 yards assessed or not? I began looking for it earlier today and I find no rule that says it can be marked from the SS.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2003, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
BktBallRef is correct. There is no provision for succeeding spot for OPI, only the previous spot. Kickoff at the 40 for one untimed down.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2003, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 9
With respect to the play situation discussed above, there have been several threads on the McGriff Board with an interpretation, purported to be based on an inquiry to the NFHS, to the effect that, since the reason the period was originally extended was for the try down to be played, the period can only be further extended by a replay of the try. If the foul against A includes the loss of the right to replay the down, then the try is over and the period is ended. You should not extend the period for a kickoff.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 28, 2003, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
I have read the threads that TNDavid cites and there certainly do say that the half is over after the try. While I would certainly follow the interp if the situation arises, the rules, as written, do not support it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1