The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
What would you say the proper outcome of this play would be. Situation: A has the ball with about 3 seconds remaining in the 3rd quarter. A1 drives to the basket. Lead blows whistle to call foul while in the act of shooting. Buzzer goes off a split second later but clearly before the one second delay normally associated with shutting the clock off for a whistle and before the release of the ball from the hand. C is blowing whistle waving off shot after the horn since it was not released in time. Ball goes through the basket. Chaos ensues with crowd and team thinking they had made the shot. Comments.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 10:54am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
No basket if the ball wasn't in the air before the horn went off. A gets 2 FT's as part of the 3rd quarter. Fourth quarter starts with the AP throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by batreferee
What would you say the proper outcome of this play would be.
Proper outcome would be to switch from quarters to halves Nah, JR nailed it, of course.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Jurassic, I think we need more info. Who was charged with the foul? IF the foul was on team B, then the basket counts. If foul is on team A, then no basket. In this case, the C has no business waving off a basket.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Foul was on B1 on the shot attempt. Again the ball was not released before the buzzer. C was opposite the score table and in officials manual if I am correct C would then have the call on the last second shot.

This is was what was done. Foul was reported on B1. The shot did not count since it was after the buzzer. R decided no shots were warranted. Had it been bonus he would have shot free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by batreferee
Foul was on B1 on the shot attempt. Again the ball was not released before the buzzer. C was opposite the score table and in officials manual if I am correct C would then have the call on the last second shot.

This is was what was done. Foul was reported on B1. The shot did not count since it was after the buzzer. R decided no shots were warranted. Had it been bonus he would have shot free throws.
The R was incorrect. If A1 ws in the act of shooting, then he gets his 2 FTs whether the shot was released before the buzzer or not, just as JR stated.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Sorry, my bad, I kept trying the figure out all that before buzzer, after horn, before release, and all that stuff. Forgot it was the end of period. So, If B1 fouled the shooter, then he still gets two shots.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1