![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Let's even use someone who played/coached football, and presumably knows the rules better than your "average" sports journalist. They see the play and know it was illegal when/where they played, but they don't know what rule set is being used or even if a rule might have changed since they played. They see no yellow flags following the play so "it must be legal". Believe me, I get that commentators are clueless and often give our wrong information (particularly when you're talking about details about an issue). But without a) yellow flags on the field or b) a coach or someone protesting the illegality of the play, I don't see anything to "raise flags" (pun intended) in anyone's mind. |
|
|||
Quote:
But for some reason, we just accept that they're lazy. |
|
|||
Don't forget announcers and writers do not hesitate to say officials got a play wrong in other instances where they don't throw flags. They rarely assume that just because a flag isn't thrown it must be legal.
I would never expect a journalist to know the rule on a goofy play like this. There should be some kind of trigger in their head though to check with someone who does know. Unfortunately he could have called his buddy who was the R in the game and still gotten the wrong information. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
Under Fed rules, what position is the player receiving the snap in? Lineman, back, or neither? By NCAA rules: One player may be between his scrimmage line and the backs if in a position to receive a hand-to-hand snap from between the snapper’s legs. When in such position, that player may receive the snap himself or it may go directly to any player legally a back [S19].
The problem with this play for NCAA is that the ball did not go between the snappers legs. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I think what he means is that when the QB is up in the line like he was here he needs to be in position to receive a hand to hand snap between the snapper's legs. If he is not, he will either be a lineman or a mugwomp. In this case he appeared to be just to the left of the snapper and up so close that by definition he was a lineman.
He knows all snaps do not have to be between the legs as we routinely see it done differently on swinging gate plays |
|
|||
I realize the player in position to receive the hand to hand snap doesn't have to actually receive the snap himself. What I was getting at was that a lineman cannot receive a snap. By rule, this QB meets all the requirements for being a lineman.
|
|
|||
Quote:
There are legal snaps where the ball does not leave the hand until the arm is well underway with its motion in a front to back (or at an angle) way. I would NOT call that immediate. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Only in Middle School Ball | DTQ_Blue | Softball | 4 | Sun May 24, 2009 12:09am |
Middle School Game | ajs8207 | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:58pm |
Middle School season | refnrev | Volleyball | 8 | Sun Jan 28, 2007 05:06pm |
Only in Middle School | Stat-Man | Basketball | 24 | Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:51pm |