The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
Just for the record, there does not appear to be any restriction againsts K blocking R before a grounded free kick has traveled past R's free kick line under the NFHS code.

If any free kick is touched by K, before it travels past the R free kick line, it is "first touching" and R will have the option to select possession at that point. (unless R touches the kick and thereafter during the down commits a foul, or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down. NF: 6.1.6)
So-- if R get blocked into the ball, by K, before it goes 10 yards (in NFHS) what is the correct call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 10:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by kfo9494 View Post
So-- if R get blocked into the ball, by K, before it goes 10 yards (in NFHS) what is the correct call?
You might look at NF:6.1.5, that advises; "Any K player may recover the ball before it goes beyond R's free kick line if it is touched first by any receiver. Such touching in the neutral zone by R is ignored if it is caused by K pushing or blocking R into contact with the ball or if K muffs the ball into contact with R."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 11:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 60
Thanks, Did not have my books but that got me to thinking. And as usual, I think too much.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
A new doubt, now on Rule 8

Rule 8-5-2 states:

After a safety is scored, the ball belongs to the defending team at it's own 20-yard line, and that team shall put the ball in play on or between the inbound lines by a free kick that may be a punt, drop kick or place kick (Exception: Extra period and try rules).


ok... the safety os scored by the defending team. So shouldn't the offense be kicking the safety kick?

Also, a place kick? Just like a kickoff? Sure, there's nothing allowing a tee to be used on the text of the rule, but there is nothing forbidding it either.
And back in Rule 2 it says that safety kick is a free kick, and it says that a place kick on a free kick may be done with the use of a tee.

Is that right? You can use a tee for safety kicks?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
this is an easier one that just occurred to me

Is that right that there is no tie in the NCAA? Not even during the regular season? There is always going to be extra periodS when the first 4 ends in a tie until someone wins?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
also (and I'm starting to feel stupid)

is it not safety for offensive fouls that occur in their own endzone? Like offensive holding inside the offensive endzone???

Or am I missing something about penalty enforcement here?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 08:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvasques View Post
Is that right that there is no tie in the NCAA? Not even during the regular season? There is always going to be extra periodS when the first 4 ends in a tie until someone wins?
and after the 3rd overtime, both teams must go for two after a touchdown.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 08, 2009, 11:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
new one, but my guess is problem with the text

Rule 10-2-2-d states that the basic spot of enforcement for pass plays is the previous spot EXCEPT
bla bla bla

2. Roughing-the-passer enforcement on a completed forward pass from the end of the last run when that run ends beyond the neutral zone and there is no change of team possession during the down.

My guess is that it should read like this

2. Roughing-the-passer enforcement on a completed forward pass IS from the end of the last run when that run ends beyond the neutral zone and there is no change of team possession during the down.

Did I get this right?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvasques View Post
Rule 8-5-2 states:

After a safety is scored, the ball belongs to the defending team at it's own 20-yard line....
What they mean in this Rule when they say "defending team" is the team defending the endzone where the safety was scored. They don't mean offense or defense.

Quote:
Also, a place kick? Just like a kickoff? Sure, there's nothing allowing a tee to be used on the text of the rule, but there is nothing forbidding it either.
And back in Rule 2 it says that safety kick is a free kick, and it says that a place kick on a free kick may be done with the use of a tee.

Is that right? You can use a tee for safety kicks?
Yes, the kick after a safety can be a free kick just like a kickoff with a tee. Which is what most teams will do. However they do have the option to punt or drop kick. Some teams have a great punter and a poor place kicker so will choose to punt instead. I've never seen a drop kick after a safety in 25 years, which means it will probably happen on my next game

Quote:
Is that right that there is no tie in the NCAA? Not even during the regular season? There is always going to be extra periodS when the first 4 ends in a tie until someone wins?
Correct. However here in Europe, some Leagues do allow a tie and only use the tiebreaker in the playoffs. I worked the British Bowl weekend in 2008 and my game went to four overtimes!!

Quote:
is it not safety for offensive fouls that occur in their own endzone? Like offensive holding inside the offensive endzone???
Yes it is a safety for these offensive fouls (Offensive F/Mask, Illegal Hands, Holding, Illegal Block, and P/Foul) .
Rules References:-
10-2-2-c-1(run ends beyond nz),
10-2-2-c-2(run ends behind nz),
10-2-2-d-4 (passes),
10-2-2-e-4 (scrimmage kicks)
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAU Issues AZ_REF Basketball 20 Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:09pm
Money issues Ohioref3 Football 5 Fri Nov 11, 2005 05:26pm
2 issues PSU213 Football 2 Sat Sep 18, 2004 02:02pm
Two issues MOFFICIAL Basketball 5 Fri Jan 09, 2004 07:45pm
Translation Please APHP Basketball 11 Tue Jan 29, 2002 09:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1