![]() |
|
|
|||
A new doubt, now on Rule 8
Rule 8-5-2 states:
After a safety is scored, the ball belongs to the defending team at it's own 20-yard line, and that team shall put the ball in play on or between the inbound lines by a free kick that may be a punt, drop kick or place kick (Exception: Extra period and try rules). ok... the safety os scored by the defending team. So shouldn't the offense be kicking the safety kick? Also, a place kick? Just like a kickoff? Sure, there's nothing allowing a tee to be used on the text of the rule, but there is nothing forbidding it either. And back in Rule 2 it says that safety kick is a free kick, and it says that a place kick on a free kick may be done with the use of a tee. Is that right? You can use a tee for safety kicks? |
|
|||
this is an easier one that just occurred to me
Is that right that there is no tie in the NCAA? Not even during the regular season? There is always going to be extra periodS when the first 4 ends in a tie until someone wins?
|
|
|||
also (and I'm starting to feel stupid)
is it not safety for offensive fouls that occur in their own endzone? Like offensive holding inside the offensive endzone???
Or am I missing something about penalty enforcement here? |
|
|||
and after the 3rd overtime, both teams must go for two after a touchdown.
|
|
|||
new one, but my guess is problem with the text
Rule 10-2-2-d states that the basic spot of enforcement for pass plays is the previous spot EXCEPT
bla bla bla 2. Roughing-the-passer enforcement on a completed forward pass from the end of the last run when that run ends beyond the neutral zone and there is no change of team possession during the down. My guess is that it should read like this 2. Roughing-the-passer enforcement on a completed forward pass IS from the end of the last run when that run ends beyond the neutral zone and there is no change of team possession during the down. Did I get this right? |
|
|||
also
this may be just the late hours so forgive me if I sound stupid but
how is Rule 10-2-2-d Exception 4 an exception? I mean, the text of it says Enforcement penalties for facemask, (...) occuring behind the neutral zone by the offensive team from the previous spot. Didn't d just say that the enforcement on pass plays is from the previous spot??? I think I should stop with the work for today and get some rest while waiting for some help... |
|
|||
Quote:
The reason for exception 4 is the embedded exception to the exception, i.e. the part about awarding the safety, but I agree that when you first read it, it looks like it is repeating itself ![]()
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
Quote:
Ok... got it... although it's written all over the rules that whenever a foul is commited by the offense, behind Team A's goaline it is a safety. But I got it. Thanks |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
||||
Quote:
Quote:
![]() Quote:
Quote:
Rules References:- 10-2-2-c-1(run ends beyond nz), 10-2-2-c-2(run ends behind nz), 10-2-2-d-4 (passes), 10-2-2-e-4 (scrimmage kicks)
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
AAU Issues | AZ_REF | Basketball | 20 | Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:09pm |
Money issues | Ohioref3 | Football | 5 | Fri Nov 11, 2005 05:26pm |
2 issues | PSU213 | Football | 2 | Sat Sep 18, 2004 02:02pm |
Two issues | MOFFICIAL | Basketball | 5 | Fri Jan 09, 2004 07:45pm |
Translation Please | APHP | Basketball | 11 | Tue Jan 29, 2002 09:35am |