The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvasques View Post
No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.

Does that really means that on an onside kick try, Team A players have to wait for the ball to cross the line so they can block Team B and attempt a recovery of the kick?
Yes it does. If you are working 7 man, you should each have a man or two that you are focusing on to make sure they don't get blocked early.

Last edited by Sonofanump; Sat Feb 21, 2009 at 12:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonofanump View Post
Yes it does.
Rule reference?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
Rule reference?
6-1-2-h & all of 6-1-3a thru c.

What am I missing here?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
Quote:
Does that really means that on an onside kick try, Team A players have to wait for the ball to cross the line so they can block Team B and attempt a recovery of the kick?
Yes it really does mean that!!

Of course if Team B touch it before 10yds then Team A can recover and also can now legally block

It was a Rule change made in the early 1990's(??) due to one College teams onside kick play. I believe it was Hawaii(??) who had an onside kick play where the kicker would kick the ball and as it bobbled forward the other 10 Team A guys would surround it blocking Team B out of the way until it had gone 10yds when the kicker would fall on it. Usually only a handful of Team B players up front so it was 10 against 2 or 3 and the play was nearly always succesful. This Rule change made that tactic illegal. I'm sure I recall a BigTen official coming over to the UK to our Annual British Clinic back then and explaining the reasoning behind this Rule change.

I actually had this foul happen to my crew yesterday over here in the UK in a British College game and today I read a forum post about it, how wierd is that?
Definitely a Twilight Zone moment ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzlG28B-R8Y )


Judging by the Rules references that Forksref is giving, he is looking at the Fed rulebook, so I guess he missed that dvasques is talking about NCAA Rules.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!

Last edited by With_Two_Flakes; Mon Feb 23, 2009 at 09:19am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAU Issues AZ_REF Basketball 20 Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:09pm
Money issues Ohioref3 Football 5 Fri Nov 11, 2005 05:26pm
2 issues PSU213 Football 2 Sat Sep 18, 2004 02:02pm
Two issues MOFFICIAL Basketball 5 Fri Jan 09, 2004 07:45pm
Translation Please APHP Basketball 11 Tue Jan 29, 2002 09:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1