The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 169
Ruling Please

4th and 6 from K's 30 yard line. K punts and the ball crosses the LOS. R fouls beyond the ENZ. The untouched kick bounces behind the LOS where K recovers and advances 4 yards. K did not make the line to gain. What are the enforcement options?
__________________
"Don't measure yourself by what you have accomplished, but by what you should have accomplished with your ability."
- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 10:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 379
This isn't a PSK foul since K has the ball at the end of the down. K will take the penalty, enforced from the previous spot, and repeat 4th down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 10:14pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewMcCarthy
This isn't a PSK foul since K has the ball at the end of the down. K will take the penalty, enforced from the previous spot, and repeat 4th down.
I agree with Andrew. You will have to explain that one to R's coach.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Same here.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 169
The following are tips for determining PSK enforcement:

1. Did the window open (ball was snapped, kicked and past the ENZ)?
2. Did the window close (kick ended by rule)?
3. Did R end up with the ball or will R next put the ball in play?
4. Did R’s foul occur with the window open and prior to it closing?

If you answered yes to all of the above, PSK enforcement is applicable.

Is # 3 correct?
__________________
"Don't measure yourself by what you have accomplished, but by what you should have accomplished with your ability."
- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 07:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by eventnyc
The following are tips for determining PSK enforcement:
3. Did R end up with the ball or will R next put the ball in play?
Is # 3 correct?
Depending on which code you're talking about, NFHS or NCAA, no and yes.

For Fed, R HAS to be in possession of the ball at the end of the down. No ifs, ands, or buts, about it. For NCAA, you can say next to put the ball in play because they draw a distinction between "possession" and "belongs to". The ball may be possessed by K, but in actuality it belongs to R, therefore PSK will apply.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBR Ruling Dentonump Baseball 11 Fri Jun 24, 2005 02:16pm
HELP WITH A RULING jason181988 Baseball 12 Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm
ruling? refTN Basketball 3 Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:58pm
A Ruling, Please? JJ Baseball 10 Fri Jun 04, 2004 01:27pm
need a ruling coach22 Baseball 16 Sun May 25, 2003 04:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1