Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick KY
K can legally recover the untouched kick behind the NZ and advance it. K is in possession when the down ended, so this does not meet requirement 5 for PSK.
Assess the penalty from the previous spot and replay 4th down.
|
The fifth element of PSK is not written very well because it seems inconsistent in how it is applied.
Given the other four elements of PSK are met for the foul, in the play where K catches (downs) a punt beyond the neutral zonel AND in the play where K recovers behind the neutral zone and fails to reach the line to gain, by definition, K is in possession at the end of the down. However, they won't be putting the ball in play next. So neither play meets the requirements of the fifth element of PSK. However, one of these is treated as a PSK foul and the other is treated as a previous spot foul? This is where I see the inconsistency.
If this is indeed how the NF wants this enforced, I would propose the following change to element #5.
If K's touching or possession of the ball is the reason the ball become dead AND K won't next be putting the ball in play
If they want it enforced the other way, simply change the word AND to an OR, or simply eliminate the "possession by K" part of element #5.
I'm not trying to be argumentative. Just trying to figure out how they might fix the inconsistency in the rule.