Thread: Ruling Please
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 10:34am
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Here are the requiremenst for PSK from Rule 2.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Post-scrimmage kick — a foul by R when the foul occurs:
1. During scrimmage kick plays, other than a try or successful field goal.
2. During a scrimmage kick play in which the ball crosses the expanded neutral zone.
3. Beyond the expanded neutral zone.
4. Before the end of a kick.
5. And K does not have possession of the ball when the down ends and will not be next to put the ball in play.
-----------------------------------------------------------

The play meets all the requirements for numbers 1 thru 4. The question is, does this meet the requirements for number 5?

There are times when K may be in possession of the ball at the end of the down (i.e. when K "downs" the ball), but aren't entitled to put the ball in play We treat these fouls by R as PSK fouls (and this is honestly when most PSK fouls occur).

Why is this play different? K is in possession, but they won't next be putting the ball in play (just as if K had downed the ball).

My gut says this is NOT a PSK foul because K's possession did not kill the play but I can't find any rule support where the language makes this clear.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote