The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 12:11am
JJ JJ is offline
Veteran College Umpire
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IN
Posts: 1,122
Runner on third, nobody out. Wild pitch. Catcher runs back to the screen and gets the ball to throw to the pitcher covering the plate. The batter has not vacated the batter's box and interferes with the catcher's throw either intentionally or unintentionally. What's the call (FED)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 12:33am
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by JJ
Runner on third, nobody out. Wild pitch. Catcher runs back to the screen and gets the ball to throw to the pitcher covering the plate. The batter has not vacated the batter's box and interferes with the catcher's throw either intentionally or unintentionally. What's the call (FED)?
The runner is out and the batter is not penalized.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 01:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
Quote:
Originally posted by JJ
Runner on third, nobody out. Wild pitch. Catcher runs back to the screen and gets the ball to throw to the pitcher covering the plate. The batter has not vacated the batter's box and interferes with the catcher's throw either intentionally or unintentionally. What's the call (FED)?
The runner is out and the batter is not penalized.
Hold on a sec, that is not always the case. If their are less than 2 out, DG is right. Runner is out. But if their are two out, then it is the batter is out.

Make sure to make it clear that you are calling the batter out. I would also mark my lineup card, to be ready for a possible batting out of order next inning. Some teams might not realize the batter was out, and send him up first to bat next inning.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 05:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 842
Send a message via AIM to cowbyfan1 Send a message via Yahoo to cowbyfan1
LDUB has it right. It depends on the number of outs.
__________________
Jim

Need an out, get an out. Need a run, balk it in.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 137
Send a message via AIM to wobster
DG is right. The original post was nobody out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 07:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,737
Quote:
Originally posted by JJ
Runner on third, nobody out. Wild pitch. Catcher runs back to the screen and gets the ball to throw to the pitcher covering the plate. The batter has not vacated the batter's box and interferes with the catcher's throw either intentionally or unintentionally. What's the call (FED)?
John --

I don't have my FED books handy, but there's some quote in there to the effect that the "bater must vacate the batter's box if he has sufficient tome to do so."

Good luck at your college regional.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 09:16pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by wobster
DG is right. The original post was nobody out.
Like I said!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 09:17pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by JJ
Runner on third, nobody out. Wild pitch. Catcher runs back to the screen and gets the ball to throw to the pitcher covering the plate. The batter has not vacated the batter's box and interferes with the catcher's throw either intentionally or unintentionally. What's the call (FED)?
John --

I don't have my FED books handy, but there's some quote in there to the effect that the "bater must vacate the batter's box if he has sufficient tome to do so."

Good luck at your college regional.

That's why the runner is out, because the batter did not vacate the box and interfered with a play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 10:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Question

Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
"bater must vacate the batter's box if he has sufficient tome to do so."
bob,
Even the if the bater is the Master?
mick

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 04, 2004, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,737
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
"bater must vacate the batter's box if he has sufficient tome to do so."
bob,
Even the if the bater is the Master?
mick

Apparently I need to get one of those spelling or typing tomes. :/

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 04, 2004, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to ecurebel
Quote:
Runner on third, nobody out. Wild pitch. Catcher runs back to the screen and gets the ball to throw to the pitcher covering the plate. The batter has not vacated the batter's box and interferes with the catcher's throw either intentionally or unintentionally. What's the call (FED)?

so with nobody out there would be the runner being the only person to be put out due to the interference
__________________
while umpiring I have yet to WIN, LOSE, or even TIE a game. I am only there to call it like I see it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1