The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 10:14pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewMcCarthy
This isn't a PSK foul since K has the ball at the end of the down. K will take the penalty, enforced from the previous spot, and repeat 4th down.
I agree with Andrew. You will have to explain that one to R's coach.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Same here.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 03, 2006, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 169
The following are tips for determining PSK enforcement:

1. Did the window open (ball was snapped, kicked and past the ENZ)?
2. Did the window close (kick ended by rule)?
3. Did R end up with the ball or will R next put the ball in play?
4. Did R’s foul occur with the window open and prior to it closing?

If you answered yes to all of the above, PSK enforcement is applicable.

Is # 3 correct?
__________________
"Don't measure yourself by what you have accomplished, but by what you should have accomplished with your ability."
- John Wooden
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 07:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by eventnyc
The following are tips for determining PSK enforcement:
3. Did R end up with the ball or will R next put the ball in play?
Is # 3 correct?
Depending on which code you're talking about, NFHS or NCAA, no and yes.

For Fed, R HAS to be in possession of the ball at the end of the down. No ifs, ands, or buts, about it. For NCAA, you can say next to put the ball in play because they draw a distinction between "possession" and "belongs to". The ball may be possessed by K, but in actuality it belongs to R, therefore PSK will apply.
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 09:47am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by grantsrc
Depending on which code you're talking about, NFHS or NCAA, no and yes.

For Fed, R HAS to be in possession of the ball at the end of the down. No ifs, ands, or buts, about it. For NCAA, you can say next to put the ball in play because they draw a distinction between "possession" and "belongs to". The ball may be possessed by K, but in actuality it belongs to R, therefore PSK will apply.
But Grant, if R downs the punt as it is rolling slowly beyond the NZ, they are in possession, but PSK will apply.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJT
But Grant, if R downs the punt as it is rolling slowly beyond the NZ, they are in possession, but PSK will apply.
REPLY: Monte...I think you meant to describe a scrimmage kick play where K downs the punt as it is rolling slowly beyond the NZ. Right?
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Here are the requiremenst for PSK from Rule 2.

-----------------------------------------------------------
Post-scrimmage kick — a foul by R when the foul occurs:
1. During scrimmage kick plays, other than a try or successful field goal.
2. During a scrimmage kick play in which the ball crosses the expanded neutral zone.
3. Beyond the expanded neutral zone.
4. Before the end of a kick.
5. And K does not have possession of the ball when the down ends and will not be next to put the ball in play.
-----------------------------------------------------------

The play meets all the requirements for numbers 1 thru 4. The question is, does this meet the requirements for number 5?

There are times when K may be in possession of the ball at the end of the down (i.e. when K "downs" the ball), but aren't entitled to put the ball in play We treat these fouls by R as PSK fouls (and this is honestly when most PSK fouls occur).

Why is this play different? K is in possession, but they won't next be putting the ball in play (just as if K had downed the ball).

My gut says this is NOT a PSK foul because K's possession did not kill the play but I can't find any rule support where the language makes this clear.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2006, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
Here's my question: what happens to first touching when there is an accepted penalty?

Hint: See 5-1-6
__________________
Check out my football officials resource page at
http://resources.refstripes.com
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OBR Ruling Dentonump Baseball 11 Fri Jun 24, 2005 02:16pm
HELP WITH A RULING jason181988 Baseball 12 Mon May 02, 2005 04:38pm
ruling? refTN Basketball 3 Mon Apr 04, 2005 10:58pm
A Ruling, Please? JJ Baseball 10 Fri Jun 04, 2004 01:27pm
need a ruling coach22 Baseball 16 Sun May 25, 2003 04:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1