The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2014, 04:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I disagree. The throw in legally ended when it was tipped, however, the tip doesn't mean there was team control, or player control of the ball in the front court.
4-12-3: Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.

4-4-1: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

PC control of the ball in the FC is never relevant.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2014, 05:54pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
4-12-3: Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.

4-4-1: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

PC control of the ball in the FC is never relevant.
My bad, I was looking at the case book, 4-12-3,B.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2014, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
4-12-3: Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.

4-4-1: A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching the backcourt.

PC control of the ball in the FC is never relevant.
That is all good assuming you accept that true team control exists on the throw in and not some limited version of team control. The rule certainly doesn't clarify that but the published intent of the rule does effectively establish two types of team control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2014, 10:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
That is all good assuming you accept that true team control exists on the throw in and not some limited version of team control. The rule certainly doesn't clarify that but the published intent of the rule does effectively establish two types of team control.
Yep, and for those of us who read the published intent, it's pretty simple. For those who simply read the rules, though, there is no such distinction. Not only does the rule not clarify that, it's actually pretty clearly written in a way that means the opposite of what they intended.

If they're going to rule by case play, they should simply note in the ruling of the case play what you're saying here: TC during a throw-in is only intended to affect foul situations, and all violation calls should consider TC inactive until PC is established inbounds.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
And, there are going to be some who take the wording and try to apply it to "a1 from the BC throws the ball that hits the referee in the FC and rebounds to be BC where A2 recovers."

They are going to claim "no TC in the FC" (which is, of course, false, but it's the same concept as on the case)
Exactly, and the rules give us no means by which we can distinguish between the two situations.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2014, 11:02pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
2014-15 points of emphasis.

4. Team Control Status During Throw In: Since a 2011-12 rules change, team control exists during a throw-in when the thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change was made ONLY, to eliminate the penalty of administering free throw(s) when a teammate of the throw-in commits a common foul during the throw-in. The change made the penalty consistent with the penalty for other team control fouls. The penalty now is the awarding of a throw-in to the opposing team at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.

NOTE: Team control during a throw-in is not intended to be equated to player control status inbounds which creates team control status inbounds. During the throw-in, 10 seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc... are not factors as there has yet to be player control/team control status obtained inbounds. Page 70 Rulebook.

There shouldn't be any debate anymore. This makes it pretty clear.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Yep, and for those of us who read the published intent, it's pretty simple. For those who simply read the rules, though, there is no such distinction. Not only does the rule not clarify that, it's actually pretty clearly written in a way that means the opposite of what they intended.

If they're going to rule by case play, they should simply note in the ruling of the case play what you're saying here: TC during a throw-in is only intended to affect foul situations, and all violation calls should consider TC inactive until PC is established inbounds.



Exactly, and the rules give us no means by which we can distinguish between the two situations.
Yes it does. Page 70 rule book.

Last edited by OKREF; Sat Oct 11, 2014 at 11:04pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 12, 2014, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Exactly, and the RULES give us no means by which we can distinguish between the two situations.
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Yes it does. Page 70 rule book.
No, it doesn't.

There are no RULES on page 70.

If it's published in the RULES, then it will be published each and every year.

Points of Emphasis change every year, so this is NOT a fix.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 12, 2014, 09:05am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
No, it doesn't.

There are no RULES on page 70.

If it's published in the RULES, then it will be published each and every year.

Points of Emphasis change every year, so this is NOT a fix.
It clearly tells you what the intent of the rule is.

Last edited by OKREF; Sun Oct 12, 2014 at 09:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 12, 2014, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
It clearly tells you what the intent of the rule is.
And it will be gone next year. It is still messed up.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 12, 2014, 01:45pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
It clearly tells you what the intent of the rule is.
I agree that the intent of the rule is very clear. It was clear when the rule was changed to give a TC foul during a throw-in, but it would be nice if the entire rule was changed to reflected the actual language of the rules better. It is a minor fix, but not the fix to stop people from reading into the rule improperly.

And as stated, unless they make this a POE every year, this is going to cause potentially some confusion moving forward.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Control Foul and Player Control The_Rookie Basketball 19 Mon Oct 29, 2012 05:03pm
Changes to 9-9 BACKCOURT vz Team Control on Thow-in justacoach Basketball 2 Mon Sep 05, 2011 11:03pm
Player Control and Team Control fouls MelbRef Basketball 15 Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm
Backcourt violation "team control" wizard Basketball 13 Mon Feb 05, 2007 09:17am
team/player control @ backcourt MN 3 Sport Ref Basketball 16 Fri Mar 21, 2003 12:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1